White Sox Interactive Forums
Talking Baseball

Welcome
Go Back   White Sox Interactive Forums > Baseball Discussions > Talking Baseball
Home Chat Stats Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2005, 07:47 PM
Erik The Red Erik The Red is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,976
Default Question re: force-out rules

I've sent this question a handful of times to Hawk and DJ, but they've never answered it. So, here goes nothing.

Here's the situation:

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter hits a chopper between the pitcher and the first-base line. Pitcher fields it close to the base line and decides to tag the batter out instead of throwing to first to get the force. The runner on 3rd crosses home plate before the tag is applied.

Now, since the ball was not thrown to first, is it not considered a force-out? And if it's not a force, does the run score?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:03 PM
Red Barchetta Red Barchetta is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,287
Default

The batter is obviously out and the run does not count. Throwing the ball to first vs. tagging the batter doesn't matter. The batter must reach base safely in order to allow the run to score if there are two outs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:05 PM
MisterB MisterB is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 2,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik The Red
I've sent this question a handful of times to Hawk and DJ, but they've never answered it. So, here goes nothing.

Here's the situation:

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter hits a chopper between the pitcher and the first-base line. Pitcher fields it close to the base line and decides to tag the batter out instead of throwing to first to get the force. The runner on 3rd crosses home plate before the tag is applied.

Now, since the ball was not thrown to first, is it not considered a force-out? And if it's not a force, does the run score?
As long as the batter is retired before reaching first base, the run cannot score. The batter must reach first safely in order for the run to score in that situation.
__________________
There were never any 'good old days'
They are today, they are tomorrow
It's a stupid thing we say
Cursing tomorrow with sorrow


Gogol Bordello - "Ultimate"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2005, 08:09 PM
Erik The Red Erik The Red is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,976
Default

Yeah, that's what I thought. Thanks, guys!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:27 PM
SOXintheBURGH's Avatar
SOXintheBURGH SOXintheBURGH is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Greenfield; Das Burgh
Posts: 6,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik The Red
Yeah, that's what I thought. Thanks, guys!
Ya know thats weird, I was wondering the same thing myself last night.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:32 AM
Erik The Red Erik The Red is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOXintheBURGH
Ya know thats weird, I was wondering the same thing myself last night.
Ya know... I'm beginning to think we were separated at birth.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2005, 10:52 AM
D. TODD D. TODD is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Chicago, In.
Posts: 2,133
Default

That is a continuous play, so no run scores. The runner must reach his next base and then try to advance for the run to score.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2005, 11:20 AM
Frater Perdurabo Frater Perdurabo is offline
WSI Prelate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19,464
Blog Entries: 1
Default

How about this situation:

Runners on first and third, two outs.

Pitcher throws to first baseman to try to pick off runner on first base. Astute runner on third breaks for home as first baseman lazily throws the ball back to the pitcher, who bobbles the ball. Suddenly aware of the runner breaking for home, pitcher fires a fastball to the catcher, who steps forward to try to receive the throw. Astute batter swings at the pitch, makes contact and hits a tiny dribbing fair ball right in front of the plate, and runs toward first base. Catcher fields the ball and attempts to tag out runner coming from third, but runner beats the tag and crosses the plate, umpire calls "safe." Batter, who hit the tiny squibber, reaches first safely. Runner who was on first, who was delayed in breaking for second base on the ground ball because he dusted himself off after sliding back to first on the pickoff attempt, is midway between first and second base. Catcher throws to second baseman (who is up on the infield grass), who tags out the runner before he reaches the bag. Does the run count?
__________________
The universe is the practical joke of the General at the expense of the Particular, quoth Frater Perdurabo, and laughed. The disciples nearest him wept, seeing the Universal Sorrow. Others laughed, seeing the Universal Joke. Others wept. Others laughed. Others wept because they couldn't see the Joke, and others laughed lest they should be thought not to see the Joke. But though FRATER laughed openly, he wept secretly; and really he neither laughed nor wept. Nor did he mean what he said.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2005, 11:30 AM
D. TODD D. TODD is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Chicago, In.
Posts: 2,133
Default

No the force out is a continuous play. The runner did not reach

his next base. The scenario was a bit far fetched, as the throw home after the pick-off attempt could not be seen as a pitch.

A situation using the continuous play rule almost came into affect the other day when Timo almost was doubled up at first, while a run tagged and scored from third. Since Timo never was safely back after the fly ball, the run that crossed home well before he would have been doubled off would not have counted. If he tagged and then tried to advance, the run would count.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2005, 11:33 AM
ilsox7 ilsox7 is offline
WSI Prelate
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Printers Row
Posts: 14,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frater Perdurabo
How about this situation:

Runners on first and third, two outs.

Pitcher throws to first baseman to try to pick off runner on first base. Astute runner on third breaks for home as first baseman lazily throws the ball back to the pitcher, who bobbles the ball. Suddenly aware of the runner breaking for home, pitcher fires a fastball to the catcher, who steps forward to try to receive the throw. Astute batter swings at the pitch, makes contact and hits a tiny dribbing fair ball right in front of the plate, and runs toward first base. Catcher fields the ball and attempts to tag out runner coming from third, but runner beats the tag and crosses the plate, umpire calls "safe." Batter, who hit the tiny squibber, reaches first safely. Runner who was on first, who was delayed in breaking for second base on the ground ball because he dusted himself off after sliding back to first on the pickoff attempt, is midway between first and second base. Catcher throws to second baseman (who is up on the infield grass), who tags out the runner before he reaches the bag. Does the run count?
I'm pretty sure this play would fall under interference and the "batter" would immediately be out and the ball ruled dead. Runners would return to their original bases or in this case the inning would end.
__________________
"If you hang on to the flimsiness of anything you may as well be standing there counting crows..."
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-08-2005, 11:34 AM
SOXPHILE SOXPHILE is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northwest Suburbs
Posts: 4,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frater Perdurabo
How about this situation:

Runners on first and third, two outs.

Pitcher throws to first baseman to try to pick off runner on first base. Astute runner on third breaks for home as first baseman lazily throws the ball back to the pitcher, who bobbles the ball. Suddenly aware of the runner breaking for home, pitcher fires a fastball to the catcher, who steps forward to try to receive the throw. Astute batter swings at the pitch, makes contact and hits a tiny dribbing fair ball right in front of the plate, and runs toward first base. Catcher fields the ball and attempts to tag out runner coming from third, but runner beats the tag and crosses the plate, umpire calls "safe." Batter, who hit the tiny squibber, reaches first safely. Runner who was on first, who was delayed in breaking for second base on the ground ball because he dusted himself off after sliding back to first on the pickoff attempt, is midway between first and second base. Catcher throws to second baseman (who is up on the infield grass), who tags out the runner before he reaches the bag. Does the run count?
In that case, I think the batter is automatically out for interference. The ball the pitcher threw to the catcher wouldn't be considered a pitch for the batter to swing at because the pitcher is not on the rubber and set. The pitcher was just throwing home to make a play, not a pitch to the batter.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:16 PM
Ol' No. 2's Avatar
Ol' No. 2 Ol' No. 2 is offline
WSI High Priest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bullpen Sports Bar
Posts: 11,663
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frater Perdurabo
How about this situation:

Runners on first and third, two outs.

Pitcher throws to first baseman to try to pick off runner on first base. Astute runner on third breaks for home as first baseman lazily throws the ball back to the pitcher, who bobbles the ball. Suddenly aware of the runner breaking for home, pitcher fires a fastball to the catcher, who steps forward to try to receive the throw. Astute batter swings at the pitch, makes contact and hits a tiny dribbing fair ball right in front of the plate, and runs toward first base. Catcher fields the ball and attempts to tag out runner coming from third, but runner beats the tag and crosses the plate, umpire calls "safe." Batter, who hit the tiny squibber, reaches first safely. Runner who was on first, who was delayed in breaking for second base on the ground ball because he dusted himself off after sliding back to first on the pickoff attempt, is midway between first and second base. Catcher throws to second baseman (who is up on the infield grass), who tags out the runner before he reaches the bag. Does the run count?
Tough time falling asleep last night?
__________________

19 seasons, 9232 AB, 216 SO
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:47 PM
Paulwny Paulwny is offline
WSI High Priest
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In a Field
Posts: 6,576
Default

I have one that had occurred and damn if I can remember the ruling. This may have happened during the late 60's early 70's and I believe it was during a Cardinal game.

Runner on 1st, pitched ball in the dirt partially deflected by the catcher, the ball rolls a few feet behind the umpire, the runner breaks for 2nd, the ump ( forgot there was a runner at 1st) hands the catcher a new ball, the catcher thinking this is the game ball throws toward 2nd, but the ball sails into cf and the runner proceeds to 3rd base.

Any guesses or anyone remember this?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-08-2005, 01:44 PM
tebman's Avatar
tebman tebman is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 3,881
Blog Entries: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulwny
I have one that had occurred and damn if I can remember the ruling. This may have happened during the late 60's early 70's and I believe it was during a Cardinal game.

Runner on 1st, pitched ball in the dirt partially deflected by the catcher, the ball rolls a few feet behind the umpire, the runner breaks for 2nd, the ump ( forgot there was a runner at 1st) hands the catcher a new ball, the catcher thinking this is the game ball throws toward 2nd, but the ball sails into cf and the runner proceeds to 3rd base.

Any guesses or anyone remember this?
I remember hearing that one too, and I can't remember either what the ruling was. I think(?) that the new ball was not a game ball, so the runner was free to proceed as far as he could get away with.

But my memory is foggy.
__________________
- tebman
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-08-2005, 04:18 PM
Frater Perdurabo Frater Perdurabo is offline
WSI Prelate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19,464
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOXPHILE
In that case, I think the batter is automatically out for interference. The ball the pitcher threw to the catcher wouldn't be considered a pitch for the batter to swing at because the pitcher is not on the rubber and set. The pitcher was just throwing home to make a play, not a pitch to the batter.
So then what is the difference with executing a suicide squeeze? In a suicide squeeze, doesn't the batter use his bat to "hit/bunt" the ball that the pitcher throws to the catcher?

Specifically, can an umpire arbitrarily judge whether or not a ball thrown by the pitcher to the catcher is a "pitch" or an effort to nail a runner attempting to steal the base? Could he call a balk?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.




Design by: Michelle

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site-specific editorial/photos Copyright ©2001 - 2008 White Sox Interactive. All rights reserved.