White Sox Interactive Forums
Talking Baseball

Welcome
Go Back   White Sox Interactive Forums > Baseball Discussions > Talking Baseball
Home Chat Stats Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2004, 10:45 PM
Irishsox1 Irishsox1 is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,054
Rules for a save?

The Flubbies beat the Astros 7 to 2 and Jimmy Anderson got the save. I was always under the impression that a save was a 3 run lead. Please explain...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2004, 10:50 PM
duke of dorwood duke of dorwood is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southwest Subs.
Posts: 4,542
Default

3 innings with the lead to finish a game size of lead is incidental, or have the tying run in the on deck circle, beyond the usual lead of 3 runs or less and finishing a game
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2004, 10:56 PM
beckett21 beckett21 is offline
Official Physician
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,418
Default

I thought the rule was 3 innings or the tying run in the hole--i.e. the batter up after the guy on deck. That is why they also get a save starting the 9th inning with a 3-run lead.

I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that is the current rule.

Also, the official scorer has final discretion. They can choose not to give a save if the pitcher is in their opinion ineffective. Rare that that would happen, but in a 3-inning scenario it is possible.
__________________
another WU! production--thanks WU!
"A lot of people think I'm arrogant because I believe in myself. I'm not going to apologize for that. I don't care if people dislike me. Screw them. I do things my way...I don't ever expect to fail."--Josh Beckett
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:08 PM
MRKARNO MRKARNO is offline
WSI High Priest
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Downtown
Posts: 7,678
Default

The three ways to get a save are as follows:

A. Enter the game with a one, two or three run lead and the pitcher records the last out in a win

B. Three or more innings of effective relief and the pitcher records the last out in a win(official scorer's discretion as to what is or is not effective, but it's almost always awarded)

C. Enter the game with the tying run on deck (not in the hole) and record the last out in a win.
__________________
Post season checklist:
First home playoff win in 46 years Check
First playoff series win in 88 years Check
First Pennant in 46 years CHECK
First World Series in 88 years CHECK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:21 PM
beckett21 beckett21 is offline
Official Physician
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRKARNO
The three ways to get a save are as follows:

A. Enter the game with a one, two or three run lead and the pitcher records the last out in a win

B. Three or more innings of effective relief and the pitcher records the last out in a win(official scorer's discretion as to what is or is not effective, but it's almost always awarded)

C. Enter the game with the tying run on deck (not in the hole) and record the last out in a win.
I stand corrected.

I don't know where I got that *in the hole* stuff, but for some strange reason I always thought that was the rule.

Still, then, I don't understand why they award a save entering a game with a 3-run lead if the rule is not in the hole, like starting the 9th inning for example. There is no one on base, and the tying run is technically in the hole. But I guess a rule is whatever they choose to make it, doesn't necessarily have to make sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:21 PM
StockdaleForVeep StockdaleForVeep is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago\DeKalb\Granite City
Posts: 4,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRKARNO
The three ways to get a save are as follows:


B. Three or more innings of effective relief and the pitcher records the last out in a win(official scorer's discretion as to what is or is not effective, but it's almost always awarded)
hey key note is almost, Wagner didnt get the save in the game where he gave up 4 runs and i believe same happened for smoltz?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:28 PM
beckett21 beckett21 is offline
Official Physician
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,418
Default

[QUOTE=StockdaleForVeep]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRKARNO
The three ways to get a save are as follows:


B. Three or more innings of effective relief and the pitcher records the last out in a win(official scorer's discretion as to what is or is not effective, but it's almost always awarded)
QUOTE]


hey key note is almost, Wagner didnt get the save in the game where he gave up 4 runs and i believe same happened for smoltz?
Don't remember the score of the Phillie game off the top of my head, but I was at the game where Smoltz blew up. When Smoltzie came in, it was 6-0 so it was not a save situation to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:45 PM
StillMissOzzie StillMissOzzie is offline
WSI High Priest
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 5,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beckett21
Don't remember the score of the Phillie game off the top of my head, but I was at the game where Smoltz blew up. When Smoltzie came in, it was 6-0 so it was not a save situation to begin with.
I'm pretty sure you can't create a save situation out of a non-save situation for yourself.

SMO
__________________
2014 tally: x 2, x 1
COTC Record: 1 - 1 (lifetime)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:51 PM
beckett21 beckett21 is offline
Official Physician
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StillMissOzzie
I'm pretty sure you can't create a save situation out of a non-save situation for yourself.

SMO


"Damn."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2004, 03:22 AM
StockdaleForVeep StockdaleForVeep is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago\DeKalb\Granite City
Posts: 4,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beckett21
Don't remember the score of the Phillie game off the top of my head, but I was at the game where Smoltz blew up. When Smoltzie came in, it was 6-0 so it was not a save situation to begin with.
I believe the phillies beat us same score we beat them, 13-11, wagner came in cuz he just came off the dl and the score was 13-7 or 13-6.

Question, even tho its not a save if they end it, if they end up giving up the tieing run, does it rank as a blown save?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-15-2004, 03:30 AM
owensmouth's Avatar
owensmouth owensmouth is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
I'm pretty sure you can't create a save situation out of a non-save situation for yourself.
Yeah, you can. If, for example, a relief pitcher comes on and gives up a single and puts him into that save situation, and he then goes on to get the final out(s), he'll generally get the save.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-15-2004, 04:17 PM
MRKARNO MRKARNO is offline
WSI High Priest
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Downtown
Posts: 7,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by owensmouth
Yeah, you can. If, for example, a relief pitcher comes on and gives up a single and puts him into that save situation, and he then goes on to get the final out(s), he'll generally get the save.
I'm pretty sure that you're wrong on that, unless the single scored enough runs which were credited to the previous pitcher that woulod change the lead to 3 runs or less.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-15-2004, 07:14 PM
ma-gaga's Avatar
ma-gaga ma-gaga is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Minny
Posts: 4,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by owensmouth
Yeah, you can. If, for example, a relief pitcher comes on and gives up a single and puts him into that save situation, and he then goes on to get the final out(s), he'll generally get the save.
yeah...

You cannot "create" a save situation for yourself. It's not a 'generally' item, the rules are very specific on when there is a save situation. MRKARNO has summarized them above.

However, you can create a save situation for the guy behind you. If you have a 5 run lead, and you get 2 outs, then you proceed to load up the bases, and then get pulled, the guy behind you has a save situation. 3 on base + 1 batter + 1 on deck = 5 runs to tie the game = save situation. That doesn't happen very often.
__________________
I am not a GUN!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-16-2004, 07:30 AM
fquaye149 fquaye149 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: fayetteville, ar
Posts: 10,116
Default

isn't it if your lead minus number of outs left in the game minus runners on base equals zero you are eligible for a save if you complete the game?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Forum Jump




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.




Design by: Michelle

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site-specific editorial/photos Copyright ©2001 - 2008 White Sox Interactive. All rights reserved.