Originally Posted by LoveYourSuit
Why didn't Crais re-touch 3B when going home if when he got up it was to the 2B side of 3B?
That would be damned picky. Do we really want to make guys stop acting on instinct and using all their athletic skills and force them to think, "did I do that right" every single time something like this happens?
This was a bang bang play though not in the classic sense of the word, bang the ball went past the glove of the 3B and bang the runner jumped to his feet and started running.
It was a valid play by the runner.
Edit: I'll step aside and assume TDog knows what he's talking about and that my explanation is moot in the face of the rules.