Originally Posted by slavko
Been seeing that play so much recently that I have come to think Alou would have made the catch. Bartman's hand was just a foot or so over his glove. The umpire had signaled by pointing that the ball was in the stands, but it "came back" into play because of side spin on the way down.
Certainly worthy of a 10 year anniversary celebration. Maybe it oughtta be a National Day of Mourning.
The 30 for 30 ESPN did used digital technology to remove all of the fans out of the seats and it appeared that Alou would have caught the ball.
I still have my doubts that it was a for sure catch though. It could have hit off the heel of his glove, his glove could have bumped into some fans knocking the ball loose, or he could have closed his glove too early. It's a tough play and you can never assume the catch will be made.