View Single Post
Old 03-24-2011, 11:55 AM
wilburaga wilburaga is offline
WSI Personality
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cranford, NJ
Posts: 929

From the post Himes era up until Beckham in 2008, the Sox first rounders have been almost total busts. Here is the sad litany.

1991 Scott Ruffcorn
1992 Eddie Pearson
1993 Scott Christman
1994 Mark Johnson
1995 Jeff Liefer
1996 Bobby Seay (Didn't sign)
1997 Jason Dallaero
1998 Kip Wells
1999 Jason Stumm, Matt Ginter
2000 Joe Borchard
2001 Kris Honel
2002 Royce Ring
2003 Brian Anderson
2004 Josh Fields
2005 Lance Broadway
2006 Kyle McCullough
2007 Aaron Poreda

Only Wells made any significant contribution and he wasn't anything to write home about. I doubt any organization can come close to such sustained first round futility.
Reply With Quote