PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here who knows nothing about baseball

scharatz
03-08-2008, 01:47 PM
Hi guys and greetings from London!

I'll be visiting Chicago in June and fancied watching a baseball game but I know nothing about it! I see it's played over 3 days against the same team - 17th/18th/19th June against Pittsburgh http://chicago.whitesox.mlb.com/schedule/index.jsp?c_id=cws&m=6&y=2008

What's the difference between the 3 games and which one is the best one to attend? How long does a game usually last? And which section of the stadium is the best one for atmosphere?

Many thanks :smile:

rdivaldi
03-08-2008, 01:53 PM
:welcome:

There's really no difference between any of the three games that are being played, most likely just the pitchers who are starting. Games last anywhere between 2 hours to 4 hours depending on who is pitching, how many runs are scored and if the game goes into extra innings due to a tie. As for which section to sit in, that's pretty much subjective. There's probably a good reason to sit anywhere in the ballpark. I personally try to get as close to the field as possible in the lower deck.

Jjav829
03-08-2008, 02:02 PM
There is no real difference. Baseball, unlike say soccer, is played in a series of games. Rather than playing one game against a team and moving on, teams play series of usually 3 games, though sometimes there are 4 game series or 2 game series. The biggest difference between the three games of this particular series is the first two games of the series will be played at night, whereas the last will be played during the daytime. So if you would rather watch a game in the sunlight, the 19th would probably be your best choice.