View Full Version : Sam Rice's World Series Catch

10-13-2007, 11:04 AM
Sam Rice died on this date in 1974. He was, perhaps, best know for his catch in the 1925 World Series. With Washington holding on to a 4-3 lead in the last of the eighth, he caught up with a long fly ball and toppled into the stands. Some people claim that he was bobbling the ball when he fell into the crowd, but Rice emerged with the ball; the umpire called the batter out.

Rice was asked repeatedly about whether or not he actually made the catch. He would only reply that the umpire called the batter out and left it at that. Most people must have assumed that he didn't actually catch it, because he was so evasive.

The matter was finally settled upon his death, because he wrote what really happened in a letter and mailed it to the baseball hall-of-fame, to be opened when he passes away. In the letter, opened 49 years after the event took place, he describes the catch and ends it saying "at no time did I lose possession of the ball."

10-15-2007, 08:49 AM
Thanks for posting the story. Rice was a great hitter; .322 lifetime batting average, and he retired when he was 44 years old (after hitting .293 in limited action), 13 hits shy of the 3,000 mark.