PDA

View Full Version : Question about wins


champagne030
08-23-2007, 10:50 PM
Last night Ryan Franklin pitched the top of the 7th inning and gave up the lead for the Cardinals against the Marlins. He finished the inning and in the bottom of the 7th the Cardinals took the lead for good. Russ Springer pitched the top of the 8th and Izzy the 9th.

My question is how does Franklin not get the win. They gave it to Springer. I thought even if they pinch hit for you in the following half inning, in which you pitched, and your team took the lead you were in line for a win. How can Springer possibly get credit for the win?

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/boxscore.jsp?gid=2007_08_22_flomlb_slnmlb_1

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/boxscore?gid=270822124&page=plays

JB98
08-23-2007, 11:43 PM
Last night Ryan Franklin pitched the top of the 7th inning and gave up the lead for the Cardinals against the Marlins. He finished the inning and in the bottom of the 7th the Cardinals took the lead for good. Russ Springer pitched the top of the 8th and Izzy the 9th.

My question is how does Franklin not get the win. They gave it to Springer. I thought even if they pinch hit for you in the following half inning, in which you pitched, and your team took the lead you were in line for a win. How can Springer possibly get credit for the win?

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/boxscore.jsp?gid=2007_08_22_flomlb_slnmlb_1

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/boxscore?gid=270822124&page=plays

The official scorer has the discretion to credit the win to someone who pitched well.

TDog
08-24-2007, 12:14 AM
Last night Ryan Franklin pitched the top of the 7th inning and gave up the lead for the Cardinals against the Marlins. He finished the inning and in the bottom of the 7th the Cardinals took the lead for good. Russ Springer pitched the top of the 8th and Izzy the 9th.

My question is how does Franklin not get the win. They gave it to Springer. I thought even if they pinch hit for you in the following half inning, in which you pitched, and your team took the lead you were in line for a win. How can Springer possibly get credit for the win?

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/boxscore.jsp?gid=2007_08_22_flomlb_slnmlb_1

http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/boxscore?gid=270822124&page=plays

That is a good question. This comes from the MLB scoring rules (http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/official_scorer_10.jsp), rule 10.17.

Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. ...
(c) The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.
Rule 10.17(c) Comment: The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(b) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.

Franklin pitched a complete inning. Three runs crossed the plate while he was in the game. He does not fall within the rulebook definition of ineffective and brief. Without the scorer using his judgment, Franklin is clearly the winner, as a pitcher who blew the lead but left with a new lead. That is how James Baldwin won the 2000 All-Star Game. I have never seen a scorer use judgment to determine a winning pitcher except in situations where there was no one survived a game as the pitcher of record because the starter failed to pitch five innings.

Franklin may have a beef. It wouldn't make for good press to pursue the issue publicly, however.