PDA

View Full Version : Ozzie: "We have to apologize to the fans"

Foultips
06-20-2007, 12:47 PM
He sounding more and more like a man who doesn't want to be there anymore

Frustration boiling over for Guillen after latest loss (http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=2910088)

"It's a joke," he said. "Every day we see the same stuff, every day we see the same team. We have a couple of hopes here and there and get a little excited and the next day we go backward.

"We have to apologize to the fans watching this thing because I'm tired of watching this day in and day out. ... Wow. You thought I was a good manager. Well, look at me now. I'm not that good. You're as good as your players are."

mccoydp
06-20-2007, 01:05 PM
Can't say I disagree with him. The 2007 version of the White Sox is, currently, a joke.

PaulDrake
06-20-2007, 01:05 PM
I've been slapped around a little because I'm not a knee jerk Ozzie supporter, but he's right about his players not backing him up by doing well when he puts them in the game, or asks them do something difficult like bunt a runner over. He must cringe inside before, during and after every game. Even the occasional one his team wins. I don't envy Ozzie, and certainly as a fan wish the team would go on a 20 game winning streak. In my heart of hearts however, this just looks and feels like a very bad team. I feel for you Oz, and know that the current situation won't let you show what you can do, and have done.

balke
06-20-2007, 01:19 PM
The Sox'd be winning right now if the bullpen was doing what it gets paid for, and what its capable of. They are in a horrible spot right now because of this Pen.

I know the offense has been HORRENDOUS as well, but this whole Sox run and team is designed around pitching. If that pen were only allowing one run through 3 IP the Sox might be over .500 right now.

AJ Hellraiser
06-20-2007, 01:50 PM