PDA

View Full Version : We officially have NO speed... what do we do?

regionsox73
05-27-2007, 11:08 PM
First we lose Pods until who knows so our leadoff guy is out-probably until July. Now Pablo, the guy who was playing some LF and doing some leadoff is out until August if lucky. That leaves us with Erstad and Mackowiak as the only two guys that can go 1st to 3rd? Sometimes you look out on the bases and you have Thome, Dye, Konerko, A.J., Hall, etc. It is like a slowpitch softball team. Almost like you need to rely on the long ball to score guys or hope they walk in runs. Cintron is another piano lugger and I had figured him to be more fleet of foot.

I am not sure if we have anyone to fill the void as a speed guy in AAA so that might have to be addressed by trade- and it is not too early.

Is Ricky Henderson still playing Independent ball somewhere? (TIC)

Hitmen77
05-27-2007, 11:15 PM
If speed/basestealing threat is our primary concern, we do have Jerry Owens available at AAA.

I guess we'll find out tomorrow morning who the Sox call up to replace Pablo.

whitesoxfan
05-27-2007, 11:17 PM
Jerry Owens. He's the likely callup IMO. His main thing about him is his speed and speed doesn't slump, so if he's on the bench, that'll be the best role for him. Fields, Sweeney, and BA need their AB's in Charlotte so I wouldn't call any of them up. I think Owens can step in and do a good job.

sox1970
05-27-2007, 11:19 PM
Jerry Owens. He's the likely callup IMO. His main thing about him is his speed and speed doesn't slump, so if he's on the bench, that'll be the best role for him. Fields, Sweeney, and BA need their AB's in Charlotte so I wouldn't call any of them up. I think Owens can step in and do a good job.

I do too. He's more cut out to be a 4th outfielder anyway.

UserNameBlank
05-28-2007, 12:01 AM
What do we do?

Play the only type of game we can.