PDA

View Full Version : This has to be a first


Fenway
05-02-2007, 12:38 PM
this happened last week in Baltimore

The game was put under protest by Indians manager Eric Wedge in the bottom of the sixth inning and the protest will be ruled on by the commissioner's office in the coming days. What prompted the protest could easily qualify as one of the stranger occurrences in Orioles' history. They were awarded a run 3 1/2 innings after it actually scored.

http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/baseball/bal-sp.orioles29apr29,0,6235397.story?coll=bal-sports-baseball

SBSoxFan
05-02-2007, 12:43 PM
this happened last week in Baltimore



http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/baseball/bal-sp.orioles29apr29,0,6235397.story?coll=bal-sports-baseball

I was reading something about Cleveland the other day and it brought up this game. I had not heard about it. I think in their last 9 games this is Cleveland's only loss. Now the commissioners office is going to decide if Cleveland gets another chance to win the game.

Fenway
05-02-2007, 12:46 PM
I have never heard of umpires changing something after play resumed

and 3 1/2 innings later?????? This game will be replayed IMHO

SBSoxFan
05-02-2007, 12:51 PM
I have never heard of umpires changing something after play resumed

and 3 1/2 innings later?????? This game will be replayed IMHO

Is there a rule on that? As another example, can you appeal whether a runner touched a base or whether he left too early on a sac fly after the ensuing pitch is thrown? Is it like the challenge play in the NFL?

Jerko
05-02-2007, 12:52 PM
Of course something like this happened in hockey once. Team scored a goal but it was originally waved off, the other team scored a few minutes later, and after that goal they reviewed the first goal and decided that it counted, so the 2nd goal was disallowed and time was put back on the clock. I want to say the Rangers were invovled but I'm not positive.

INSox56
05-02-2007, 12:55 PM
Gimme a break, Wedge. The run should have counted. They won 7-4 anyway, so what's the difference.

Fenway
05-02-2007, 12:55 PM
Of course something like this happened in hockey once. Team scored a goal but it was originally waved off, the other team scored a few minutes later, and after that goal they reviewed the first goal and decided that it counted, so the 2nd goal was disallowed and time was put back on the clock. I want to say the Rangers were invovled but I'm not positive.

It has happened a couple of times but the policy is known so....

downstairs
05-02-2007, 01:00 PM
Is there a rule on that? As another example, can you appeal whether a runner touched a base or whether he left too early on a sac fly after the ensuing pitch is thrown? Is it like the challenge play in the NFL?

No way. Once the next pitch is thrown, its over and the ruling- no matter how bad- stands.

Chicken Dinner
05-02-2007, 01:09 PM
The funny thing is that the O's took the lead and they weren't even at bat. :o:

Jerko
05-02-2007, 01:15 PM
The funny thing is that the O's took the lead and they weren't even at bat. :o:

I can't believe we're behind a team that can lose a lead while they're batting.

Fenway
05-02-2007, 03:32 PM
Cleveland loses

NEW YORK -- The Cleveland Indians (http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/clubhouse?team=cle)' protest of their 7-4 loss to the Baltimore Orioles (http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/clubhouse?team=bal) was denied by Major League Baseball on Wednesday.

The Indians protested Saturday night's game after the umpires awarded a run to the Orioles -- three innings after initially waving it off.

MLB did not elaborate in announcing its decision. The Indians submitted paperwork to MLB on Sunday.

http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=2857990