PDA

View Full Version : Baseball’s Insane Salaries Reflective Of Something Larger

Lillian
11-21-2006, 06:48 AM
I was an analyst on Wall Street for many years. My expertise has always been in market psychology, and technical analysis. I have also studied and written extensively about long term economic cycles. It is that background, and base of knowledge that gives me cause to ponder the current state of the economics of our favorite sport.

Baseball’s recent trend of ever escalating, insanely high salaries, for even mediocre talent, is reflective of the same set of causal factors that have produced the greatest bull market in the history of the stock market, and the completely irrational boom in real estate. The latter phenomenon is on a scale of the greatest speculative manias ever witnessed.

This is not the place to explain the reasons why, but it can be irrefutably demonstrated that all such irrational market frenzies end in catastrophic collapses. There are no exceptions, and there cannot be, based upon the laws of economics, and human nature.
That said; let me state something that I can strongly support with logic, and historical precedent. We are most probably near the end of an extraordinarily long economic growth cycle, dating all the way back to the end of the deflationary Depression of the 30’s.
This cycle has witnessed some of the most irresponsible, and imprudent practices of finance, and borrowing imaginable. The refinancing that has been aggressively solicited, and sold to the public in the real estate market, will surely be viewed by historians in the same light as the “Tulip Bulb Mania”, in 17th Century Holland. Future generations will be reading accounts of this madness with similar incredulity, as they ask; “what were they thinking?”

What effect might such a collapse in the economy have on the economics of baseball?