View Full Version : Brandon Webb is 2006 NL Cy Young Award Winner

11-14-2006, 01:18 PM
Arizona right-hander Brandon Webb made his first All-Star appearance in 2006 and ran off a 30-inning scoreless streak. Now he has capped the year off with his greatest achievement. On Tuesday, Webb was named the National League Cy Young Award winner by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.


11-14-2006, 01:21 PM


Second Place: Trevor Hoffman
Third Place: Chris Carpenter
Forth Place: Roy Oswalt

11-14-2006, 02:56 PM

Pretty weak field, if you ask me.

11-14-2006, 02:58 PM
You mean "Big Z" didn't win?


11-14-2006, 03:18 PM
It was a weak bunch in the NL this year, but the Cy Young is still the Cy Young. At least nobody got screwed this year (like Dontrelle Willis did last year). Congratulations to Brandon Webb!:gulp:

Foulke You
11-14-2006, 03:56 PM
Yeah, this year's NL Cy Young crop was reflective of the entire NL this year which meant it was pretty bad. Remember when Mark Buehrle won 19 games and didn't even register a blip on the Cy Young radar? How about Loaiza winning 21 with the Sox and finishing second to Halladay? Webb won 16 and got the Cy Young. However, as PKalltheway pointed out, a Cy is a Cy or perhaps a "sigh".:cool:

11-15-2006, 02:38 PM
17th best ERA in the league?

11-15-2006, 04:36 PM
17th best ERA in the league?

Who had the 17th best ERA in the league??

Brandon Webb had the 3rd best ERA in the NL.

11-16-2006, 09:11 AM
Who had the 17th best ERA in the league??

Brandon Webb had the 3rd best ERA in the NL.

I heard someone say 17th and as usual didn't bother to look it up.

I figured someone more informed than me would correct me, and he did:D: