PDA

View Full Version : Frank Thomas sues White Sox doctors

itsnotrequired
07-13-2006, 08:53 AM
Former White Sox slugger Frank Thomas alleges in a lawsuit he filed Wednesday that two of the team's doctors failed to detect he had broken his foot in 2004--an injury that subsequently led to his departure from Chicago

http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/baseball/whitesox/chi-0607130263jul13,1,5945391.story?coll=chi-sportsnew-hed

DumpJerry
07-13-2006, 09:34 AM
Hard to say what to make of this. I'm not a PI lawyer, but my gut says that if Thomas' injury was of the type not readily diagnosable, then the suit might not fly. Beckett, any thoughts?

If the docs followed the standard of care, then their liability exposure is greatly reduced.

Another hurdle Thomas needs to overcome is the fact that his damages are mostly speculative-even the buyout of his contract last year.

It should be noted that he is not suing the White Sox, so this won't effect ticket prices next year.

JorgeFabregas
07-13-2006, 10:00 AM
Well, that's something.

Mickster
07-13-2006, 10:04 AM
The fact that Corboy & Demetrio took the case tells me that his counsel felt that the suit has merit and that the standard of care was breached. Corboy's firm is generally regarded as one of the best plaintiff PI firms in the U.S. They are certainly not known for taking "sketchy" cases. I am not implying that all of their cases are of the "slam-dunk" variety, but they are generally well researched prior to filing and usually result in a large monrtary award. Frank will see a large settlement in the least.

Ol' No. 2
07-13-2006, 10:20 AM
Frank's second injury was not a re-fracture of the original break, but in a different place than the first. How is one related to the other? Am I missing something?

DumpJerry
07-13-2006, 10:30 AM
First of all, as a member of the legal community, I am not impressed by the fact that Demetrio took the case. Thomas is a celebrity.