PDA

View Full Version : Rules Question


TheKittle
06-05-2006, 05:36 PM
I saw this happen at a travel baseball game over the weekend.

Runner at 1st.

Pitcher throws the ball in the dirt but the catchers makes the catch, then gives it to the umpire for a new ball.

During this time the runner breaks for second.

Can the runner make a break for the next base?

Meixner007
06-05-2006, 05:42 PM
It's my understanding that he can if the umpire does not accept the ball. If he takes the ball the play is dead. I would equate it to a batter asking for time while in the box. He can ask all he wants and step out, but if it's not granted the play is still live.

gbergman
06-05-2006, 05:43 PM
no, the game is on time. If he was making a break while the catcher still had the first ball then yes he can advance at his own risk. But once the catcher gives the ball to the umpire, the game is on time until the pitcher gets the ball again