PDA

View Full Version : Disappointing Acquisitions

davenicholson
04-25-2006, 10:34 AM
Not sure how this creeped into my consciousness, but it popped into my head on the way home from work yesterday. Has there been any acquisition by the Sox that had you so excited that you were sure that this guy would be The One who would finally get our guys to the World Series, that just didn't work out?

For me, it was the trade for Rocky Colavito in the middle of the 1967 season. In retrospect he was well beyond his prime, but as a 10 year-old, all I could think of was the ton of homers he was going to hit for the Sox. I remember being disappointed, but not to this extent: 190AB, 3 HR, 29 RBI, .221 average. What a terrible trick to pull on a kid! :(:

soxfan13
04-25-2006, 10:36 AM
Todd Ritchie Actually I thought the David Wells might have been the missing link after 2000

34 Inch Stick
04-25-2006, 10:43 AM
Bartolo.

Hokiesox
04-25-2006, 10:50 AM
How did we obtain the Choice? If he was by trade, he gets my vote.

gobears1987
04-25-2006, 10:50 AM
uh, greatest bust in team history, Navarro. And we passed up on Clemens for this bum!?!?!?

RKMeibalane
04-25-2006, 10:51 AM
How did we obtain the Choice? If he was by trade, he gets my vote.

A trade with the Rangers involving Aaron Myette.

RKMeibalane
04-25-2006, 10:56 AM
I actually think it has to be Steve Sax, who was accquired from the Yankees in a exchange for Bob Wickman, Dimingo Jean, and Melido Perez prior to the 1992 season. Perez had a good season, winning sixteen games and finishing amongst the leaders in strikeouts, and Wickman has a good career as a middle-reliever and closer.

Sax was brought in to soldify the Sox infield, which at the time included Thomas, Ventura, and Guillen, with Fisk and Karkovice platooning behind the plate. Instead, Sax solidified his spot on the bench, while Greg Grebeck patrolled second before he broke his foot. 1992. Ugh!

Hangar18