PDA

View Full Version : Wade Miller

getonbckthr
01-19-2006, 02:21 AM
I brought this up a couple months ago and I will bring it up again. Should the Sox take an incentive loaded chance on Wade Miller?

MUsoxfan
01-19-2006, 02:29 AM
So he could be a middle-reliever? We already have an extra starter. No, thanks

getonbckthr
01-19-2006, 02:51 AM
Everyone talks about an insurance policy. I think he would be a nice insurance policy for hardly anything.

kittle42
01-19-2006, 03:09 AM

I second this. We have 6 starters and my idea of solid middle relief isn't a bunch of broke down former starters.

Banix12
01-19-2006, 04:02 AM
Bringing in Wade Miller on a deal like they gave Tim Redding makes some sense for the sox. However it doesn't really make sense for Wade Miller.

Right now if I am a free agent pitcher who wants to start, even one which has had a rough spell like Miller, the White Sox are the last team I want to sign on to pitch for. They already have a loaded contingent of pitchers and the chances of him making the roster as a starter are pretty much nil. Miller hasn't thrown in relief in nearly seven years and I doubt he is keen on going to the bullpen so that situation doesn't exactly seem likely. Certainly the sox could offer him a chance to come to spring training and join the team but I just don't see Miller accepting a deal from the White Sox due to the lack of real opprotunity for him coming into this season.

My guess is he'll be brought in by some team which has a slot open to compete for a 5th starter spot.

kittle42
01-19-2006, 04:28 AM
My guess is he'll be brought in by some team which has a slot open to compete for a 5th starter spot.

Or he'll be the Royals' opening day starter! :smile:

Tragg
01-19-2006, 08:54 AM
Everyone talks about an insurance policy. I think he would be a nice insurance policy for hardly anything.

He's the opposite of insurance - he's a flyer.

Fenway
01-19-2006, 11:33 AM
The Red Sox are also kicking the tires