View Full Version : 2006 Hall of Fame Ballot Announced at 1 PM Central

01-10-2006, 09:35 AM
Glancing at the Eastern papers this morning it appears Sutter, Rice and Gossage are the favorites to finally get in.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame announces its Class of 2006 today (2 ET). So, who -- if anyone -- will receive the requisite
75 percent of the vote required for election? ESPN.com's 10 Hall of Fame voters unveil their ballots. Story (http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=2273401)


National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
Preserving History. Honoring Excellence. Connecting Generations.

http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/images/7681/other/plaque_gallery_7681.jpg (http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/candidate_info/candidate_info_2006.htm)2006 HOF Ballot
Results of the 2006 BBWAA HOF ballot will be announced today exclusively here on baseballhalloffame.org at 2 PM. More (http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/hofers_and_honorees/candidate_info/candidate_info_2006.htm)

01-10-2006, 09:38 AM
Here is a link to an earlier thread with thoughts and predictions regarding the Class of 2006.


My predictions & ballot:

My Ballot:

Bert Blyleven, Goose Gossage, Pete Rose, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell.


1 and done:

Rick Aguilera, Gary DiSarcina, Alex Fernandez, Gary Gaetti, Dwight Gooden, Ozzie Guillen, Gregg Jeffries, Doug Jones, Hal Morris, Walt Weiss, John Wetteland.

First year eligible players who will never make it via the BBWAA ballot - the three remaining players - Albert Belle, Will Clark & Orel Hershiser. Hershiser will get the most votes among first timers. No class of 2006 player will be voted in by the BBWAA.

Of the 15 holdovers from 2005:

Players who will never make it via the BBWAA: Dave Concepcion (though if Tony Perez can make it, anyone can), Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Wille McGee (I predict he drops off the ballot this year, the only holdover to do so), Jack Morris, Dale Murphy and "The Cobra" Dave Parker.

Players who will make it, just not in 2006 - Bert Blyleven, Andre Dawson, Rich Gossage, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell.

Players who will be elected in 2006 - Jim Rice and Bruce Sutter.

01-10-2006, 01:02 PM
Sutter was the only selected player by the BBWAA for 2006 with 76.9% of the vote.


I thought Rice would also make it but was wrong. Was correct on 13 of 14 new players (Will Clark being the exception - thought he would make it to next year but didn't).