PDA

View Full Version : This Next Win is for you...

The Wall
10-26-2005, 12:13 PM
I'm a 5 year old Sox fan...in the sense that I've known the Sox and been following them only since August 2000. Back at that time, I had came over to Chicago from my home country for grad school. Over the next couple of months, first on a small 13-inch black and white TV and then a 20-inch color TV donated by our land lord, I watched a team that had some sort of number being counted backwards. Each day, almost every newscast showed where that number was. 10, 9, 8, 7... they counted down. And then they said it had reached zero and the White Sox had won. The team had to play again for more glory. Some reporters (Corey McPherrin on Fox) were excited. Some were not (the ones on WGN).

A weekend later, they stopped talking about the Sox. And then I started learning about the game and the team. I was following the Sox from the beginning of the 2001 season. In late May, Jerry Manuel said his team will be 36-36 when the team was reeling at 14-29. To me, this didn't sound like bravado but a coach trying to win. In August, I had the chance to go see the Sox take on Cleveland Indians. First Sox hitter - Ray Durham (dont remember the pitcher). 2nd or 3rd pitch - gone over the bullpen bar in right field. Sox built an 8-0 lead but Indians came back and cut it to 4 or so. Sox scored 3 more and the final was 11-8, a White Sox winner. But they were not going to hang onto their division title. Cleveland and then Minnesota got to raise the flags in those years as I became more and more endeared by the play of the Sox. GM Kenny Williams tried everything in those years to try and field the right combination to win. As I got excited about 2003 with the team in first and just days left in the season, I felt uneasy. After 2 straight wins, Sox lost 2 straight to Twins and I met a veteran on the CTA bus after the 2nd straight loss at home to the Twins. He said he had been following the Sox all his life and he