PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Memories of the 1977 Southside Hitmen?

TomBradley72
07-13-2005, 11:20 PM
Attended a work event...turns out a woman who works with me is related to former Sox catcher Jim Essian....led to a whole discussion on the 1977 White Sox...any favorite memories for that great season from those that remember? Mine was a weekend day game against the Twins...Jim Spencer hit a grand slam...had 7 RBI's...curtain calls and na na....crowd was going insane. Old school White Sox fans, the old Comiskey, sell outs, the loudest and most raucous fans in the league at the time.

white sox bill
07-14-2005, 08:48 AM
Well, since I graduated from HS that year, the majority of my time was spent rolling jolly joints and hitting the bong:smile: ! In between I will always crack up @ Oscar Gamble's afro. Looked a bit like Mickey Mouse when his helmet came off!

cbone
07-14-2005, 09:12 AM
Zisk, Gamble, and the lovely shorts they wore on certain days. :cool:

http://xroads.virginia.edu/~MA01/Lisle/memory/images/whitesox76.jpg

tebman
07-14-2005, 09:13 AM
Attended a work event...turns out a woman who works with me is related to former Sox catcher Jim Essian....led to a whole discussion on the 1977 White Sox...any favorite memories for that great season from those that remember? Mine was a weekend day game against the Twins...Jim Spencer hit a grand slam...had 7 RBI's...curtain calls and na na....crowd was going insane. Old school White Sox fans, the old Comiskey, sell outs, the loudest and most raucous fans in the league at the time.