PDA

View Full Version : Sox you knew before they were Sox

chisoxfanatic
07-07-2005, 12:55 AM
Who on this team did you see play before they were even with the Sox (or even in the majors), and where did you see them play?

I graduated from Illinois State University in May, 2004, and I saw Neal Cotts pitch as the ace of the Redbirds' pitching staff during the 2001 season. Complete games (or close to that) weren't uncommon for him...he gave our bullpen MUCH rest whenever he started (which was generally twice a week). I knew he'd make it big someday, and was totally elated when he was traded into our system.

Huisj
07-07-2005, 01:32 AM
I saw Casey Rogowski play in High School. I guess that doesn't quite count since he's at Birmingham.

He gone
07-07-2005, 11:28 AM
Ron Kittle came to our High School baseball practice in the early 80's. This was while he was in the minors.

White Sox Josh
07-07-2005, 11:38 AM
Paul Konerko: I was in LA in 98 and he was brought up for one of those Pre-Season games between the Angels and Dodgers. I was on the way to a Clippers Game with my cousins and I was listening to the Dodgers game in the Car. I remember Vin Scully saying that he hit 2 HR's in the 1st game and than the game winning HR in the 3rd game. The name stuck with me and in 99 when the Sox traded Cameron for him I told everybody that Konerko was gonna be a Stud. My Friend's dad who is a Cub fan was saying how Konerko sucked and everything. I told him you watch he will be great. And look who had the last laugh.

Palehose13
07-07-2005, 11:40 AM
Was a big time Pods fan here in Milwaukee. I loved the trade the minute it happened. I'm glad everyone else caught on too! :wink:

greasywheels121
07-07-2005, 12:59 PM
I saw AJP play A ball for the Ft. Wayne Wizards in the mid-90s.

soltrain21
07-07-2005, 01:02 PM