PDA

View Full Version : Still have faith in Shingo?

WhosKarkovice?
06-07-2005, 01:07 AM
I'm a newbie here, but who here still has faith in Shingo?

Granted the guy has given up some nasty HR's the past few weeks... but he also started slow last year, we just had Koch to distract our hatred.

I still have faith in the guy. I dont think he went so many years as "mr. zero" on a fluke... the japanese have some disciplined hitters.
i think he's just having trouble locating this year.

Just want to throw a line out there to see if there's any shingo supporters still. hard for me to turn against the guy after all he did for us last year. I still get willies when he came out to "the gong" in the saturday cubs/sox game at sox park... that ovation... christ.

go sox in 2k5!

So.ILSoxFan
06-07-2005, 01:28 AM
You're not alone...

It's been a hard year to watch for those of us who had so much fun watching him last year. I still have faith though, and tonight was good to see. I really hope he turns it all around and becomes as lights out as before. btw, I do so enjoy that *gong*

ondafarm
06-07-2005, 08:34 AM
I saw the man pitch as a rookie in Japan. He has always started slow and its not until it gets hot and humid that he really becomes unhittable. That's when his breaking stuff really starts breaking. For a couple of years he yo-yo'd: he'd start out fine in ST (Okinawa), then get rocked and be sent down just as the weather broke, then he'd be unhittable and then get called back up. Japan had fewer domes then.

Sad
06-07-2005, 08:46 AM
I don't really have faith in him as our closer right now...

SSN721
06-07-2005, 09:31 AM
I still have faith and him and would like to see him get more work.

Bobbo35
06-07-2005, 09:41 AM
I still have faith and him and would like to see him get more work.

He needs to work on his release point and he will be fine. His stuff is nasty if he is on. Confidence is key too.

infohawk
06-07-2005, 09:54 AM