PDA

View Full Version : Tribune = sloppy reporting

JB98
04-18-2005, 05:55 PM
Mods, I didn't know whether to put this in the clubhouse or What's The Score, so move this as you see fit.

Maybe it's just because I work in the newspaper business myself, but I am sick of the Tribune's glaring factual errors in game stories. Not that it makes any difference, but I sent them the following letter to get my frustration out:

The White Sox have played 12 games so far this season, and there have already been three occasions where Tribune reporters have screwed up basic facts about the game.

Take today's story, for example. In the 7th graf, John Mullin indicates that Pablo Ozuna was "pinch-hitting for Tadahito Iguchi" in the ninth inning when Willie Harris was thrown out to end the game. This is incorrect. Ozuna pinch-hit for Timo Perez in the seventh and had remained in the game to play left field. Iguchi was 3-for-3 yesterday, one of the few Sox hitters to swing the bat well. I don't think Ozzie Guillen would be pinch-hitting for Iguchi given that fact, and even if he did, he certainly wouldn't have been calling on Pablo Ozuna. That should have been an obvious red flag for a sports copy editor. Apparently not.

In addition, your jump line on page 4 indicates, "Everett hits 3-run homer." Wrong again. It was a two-run shot. Uribe doubled and scored the first run on a single by Iguchi. Everett then followed with his blast. Writer Mullin got this part correct. Whoever wrote your jump line blew it.

You guys are already on thin ice with many Sox fans. Quite a few of us feel you go out of your way to be negative toward our team. Whether that's true or not, I can't say for certain. However, your credibility takes a big hit with me when you make these types of errors.

Sincerely,

Jason Bauman

---
White Sox record: 8-4
White Sox record with me in attendance: 2-1

ChiSoxRowand
04-18-2005, 06:03 PM