PDA

View Full Version : DH question


chisox06
04-18-2005, 02:03 PM
My dad brought up an interesting question the other day, although considering today's game is so specialized it really doesn't have any relevance. My question is; in the AL can you legally sub your pitcher for the DH spot, or is the pitcher for the day not allowed to bat even if you wanted to DH him for him the day? I thought it was an interesting question, does anyone know?

Ol' No. 2
04-18-2005, 02:11 PM
My dad brought up an interesting question the other day, although considering today's game is so specialized it really doesn't have any relevance. My question is; in the AL can you legally sub your pitcher for the DH spot, or is the pitcher for the day not allowed to bat even if you wanted to DH him for him the day? I thought it was an interesting question, does anyone know?The DH is optional. You're not required to use one. But any team can find SOMEBODY that can hit better than even a good-hitting pitcher. You can also put your DH into a fielding position during the game, if necessary, but then you lose the DH and the pitcher has to bat for himself from then on.

Iwritecode
04-18-2005, 02:15 PM
The DH is optional. You're not required to use one. But any team can find SOMEBODY that can hit better than even a good-hitting pitcher. You can also put your DH into a fielding position during the game, if necessary, but then you lose the DH and the pitcher has to bat for himself from then on.

Also, IIRC, you can legally DH for any position player. Not just the pitcher. Then the pitcher would have to bat for himself.

One of these days we'll have a DH for Crede... :D:

PaleHoseGeorge
04-18-2005, 02:26 PM
One of these days we'll have a DH for Crede...

Heard inside the GM's office at Sox Park...

:KW
"Crede is due to hit. One of these years Crede is finally due. And if he isn't due, we can always DH for him. One of our pitchers is definitely due to hit!"

:wink:

MisterB
04-18-2005, 02:28 PM
Also, IIRC, you can legally DH for any position player. Not just the pitcher. Then the pitcher would have to bat for himself.

One of these days we'll have a DH for Crede... :D:

No. The DH can ONLY hit for the pitcher.

Gosox1917
04-18-2005, 02:55 PM
I remember an Indians game back in 2000 when nothing was going right for them, Hargrove (IIRC) forgot to use the DH and it may have been Nagy or some old pitcher that had to hit in the DH spot. I Forget the score but I remember laughing at that though.

tlebar318
04-18-2005, 03:00 PM
I remember back in the mid-70's when Ken Brett was pitching for the Sox and he hit for himself instead of having a DH--of course the 1976 team was one of the worst Sox teams I can remember....And still I watched as many games as possible....in the snow of UHF on Channel 44. :smile:

eriqjaffe
04-18-2005, 03:42 PM
I remember back in the mid-70's when Ken Brett was pitching for the Sox and he hit for himself instead of having a DH--of course the 1976 team was one of the worst Sox teams I can remember....And still I watched as many games as possible....in the snow of UHF on Channel 44. :smile:Ken Brett was no slouch with the bat. 347 career at-bats with a .262 average an 10 homers. Sure, not as good as his brother, but not much worse than some of the hitters on the '76 Sox.

RKMeibalane
04-18-2005, 03:50 PM
I'm looking foward to seeing this lineup sometime in the future:

LF- Podsednik
2B- Iguchi
DH- Thomas
RF- Everett
1B- Konerko
CF- Rowand
C- Pierzynski
SS- Uribe
P- Beuhrle

hose
04-18-2005, 05:15 PM
6.10
Any League may elect to use the Designated Hitter Rule. (a) In the event of inter league competition between clubs of Leagues using the Designated Hitter Rule and clubs of Leagues not using the Designated Hitter Rule, the rule will be used as follows: 1. In World Series or exhibition games, the rule will be used or not used as is the practice of the home team. 2. In All Star games, the rule will only be used if both teams and both Leagues so agree. (b) The Rule provides as follows: A hitter may be designated to bat for the starting pitcher and all subsequent pitchers in any game without otherwise affecting the status of the pitcher(s) in the game. A Designated Hitter for the pitcher must be selected prior to the game and must be included in the lineup cards presented to the Umpire in Chief. The designated hitter named in the starting lineup must come to bat at least one time, unless the opposing club changes pitchers. It is not mandatory that a club designate a hitter for the pitcher, but failure to do so prior to the game precludes the use of a Designated Hitter for that game. Pinch hitters for a Designated Hitter may be used. Any substitute hitter for a Designated Hitter becomes the Designated Hitter. A replaced Designated Hitter shall not re enter the game in any capacity. The Designated Hitter may be used defensively, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player, unless more than one substitution is made, and the manager then must designate their spots in the batting order. A runner may be substituted for the Designated Hitter and the runner assumes the role of Designated Hitter. A Designated Hitter may not pinch run. A Designated Hitter is "locked" into the batting order. No multiple substitutions may be made that will alter the batting rotation of the Designated Hitter. Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once a pinch hitter bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game to pitch, this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. Once the game pitcher bats for the Designated Hitter this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. (The game pitcher may only pinch hit for the Designated Hitter). Once a Designated Hitter assumes a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game. A substitute for the Designated Hitter need not be announced until it is the Designated Hitter's turn to bat.