PDA

View Full Version : Getting the W


kingpin_rcs
03-16-2005, 06:12 PM
I have noticed this spring that the first pitcher has been getting credit for the win even if he has not pitched the 5 inning required to do so.

Do I have it wrong? Are 5 innings not required to win anymore or is this some special spring trianing thing. Or do I have it all wrong to begin with?

Tadahito
03-16-2005, 06:12 PM
I'm pretty sure it's just something for ST seeing that pitchers don't go 5 all that often.

johnny_mostil
03-16-2005, 08:06 PM
I have noticed this spring that the first pitcher has been getting credit for the win even if he has not pitched the 5 inning required to do so.

Do I have it wrong? Are 5 innings not required to win anymore or is this some special spring trianing thing. Or do I have it all wrong to begin with?

You have it right, Rule 10.19(a) requires that the starting pitcher must go five to get the win. Spring training and the All-Star game are "non-championship games" and are usually excluded by an exception listed in Rule 10.19(g).

http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/official_info/official_rules/official_scorer_10.jsp