PDA

View Full Version : How long could have Old Comiskey gone...

mike squires
01-24-2005, 08:16 AM
How many years did Old Comiskey have in it? Coud it have gone another year or two. I seem to recall it was starting to get like Wrigley with falling debre and stuff. Was it savable?

Frank the Tank
01-24-2005, 08:36 AM
I'm surprised Old Comiskey lasted as long as it did. Unlike the other team in town, Old Comiskey would not be allowed to "get away" with having their ballpark fall apart.

jackbrohamer
01-24-2005, 08:48 AM
This is purely my opinion, I'm not a civil engineer. But I think Reinsdorf could have kept the place functional for a long time if he put the money into it, but the old place could not generate the skybox revenue he wanted so it was doomed no matter what.

TheBull19
01-24-2005, 08:58 AM
I think it could and SHOULD have been saved - it should have been a national historic landmark.

ZachAL
01-24-2005, 09:03 AM
I'm surprised Old Comiskey lasted as long as it did. Unlike the other team in town, Old Comiskey would not be allowed to "get away" with having their ballpark fall apart.

Didn't mayor daley threaten to close "the other team in town's" ballpark down this past season unless they did a thorough job in repairing it. I dont think the cubs are "allowed to get away with having their ballpark fall apart" either.

nccwsfan
01-24-2005, 09:03 AM
At what point was it starting to "deteriorate", as they say? If the upkeep was good and they would have added luxury suites I would think it could possibly still be around, but I don't know if the upkeep was there.

I love the Cell but I really yearn to see a game in the old place....:(:

Palehose13
01-24-2005, 09:04 AM