PDA

View Full Version : Corey Koskie for 3B--fills the need for an IF vet

beck72
11-19-2004, 09:04 AM
The first move the Sox should do is sign FA 3B Corey Koskie [though his signing and a trade involving Joe Crede would be completed soon after]. Signing Koskie would then put the Sox in a better position to shore up their other holes, either by trade of free agency. A MN paper reports that the Twins have offered Koskie a 2 yr, $7 mill contract. And that despite some interest from a few teams, no other offers are on the table. The Sox could come in with a 3 yr offer that would be hard to beat, say $15 million or slightly below. Thatís a decent contract for a guy like Koskie. He would give the Sox a LH bat that hits for a .280 avg, a good OBP, and solid defense. And provide a veteran for the IF to go along with Uribe and Harris [and possibly Gload if PK is traded].

No doubt Crede has upside. Yet, IMO, Harris and Uribe have even more so. Yet all three are question marks going into 2005. And IMO, having an entire infield of unproven players is too big a gamble, esp. seeing how hard it would be to add players mid-season. If anyone thinks a potential IF of Crede, Uribe, Harris and Gload [if PK is traded] sounds like one destined for the playoffs, Iíve got a bridge in Brooklyn for you to buy. Koskieís solid production could be counted on in a day in day out basis. And allows the young IF to have some stability.