PDA

View Full Version : An Issue Worth Considering

RKMeibalane
10-20-2004, 11:19 PM
Now that the Boston Red Sox have reached the World Series, they will be traveling to a National League park for Games 3-5. As everyone knows, there is no DH under National League rules. David Ortiz, the Red Sox most consistent performer in this post-season, and an MVP candidate, is the team's designated hitter. Ortiz does not play the field often, but he is a first baseman by trade. My question for the rest of you is, will Terry Francona start Ortiz at first base for those games, or will he follow in the footsteps of a former Major League mananger and keep one of his best players on the bench. I think you all know what I'm referring to.

:jerry

"I can't imagine any reason short of an emergency for playing (you-know-who) at first base."

idseer
10-20-2004, 11:27 PM
Now that the Boston Red Sox have reached the World Series, they will be traveling to a National League park for Games 3-5. As everyone knows, there is no DH under National League rules. David Ortiz, the Red Sox most consistent performer in this post-season, and an MVP candidate, is the team's designated hitter. Ortiz does not play the field often, but he is a first baseman by trade. My question for the rest of you is, will Terry Francona start Ortiz at first base for those games, or will he follow in the footsteps of a former Major League mananger and keep one of his best players on the bench. I think you all know what I'm referring to.

"I can't imagine any reason short of an emergency for playing (you-know-who) at first base."
jm was NEVER a major league manager.

nitetrain8601
10-20-2004, 11:47 PM
Ortiz is starting at first base in those games. No question.

batmanZoSo
10-20-2004, 11:50 PM

I thought you were hinting at Ortiz being the next Bill Buckner. They have an excellent replacement in Mientkiewica behind him...