PDA

View Full Version : NY POST: Nobody Wants Loaiza

Unregistered
08-23-2004, 12:18 PM
Since the last Loaiza thread was completely hijacked, I found this piece in the Post somewhat amusing. Mods, feel free to move this back to that Roadhouse worthy thread if needed.

http://www.nypost.com/sports/yankees/27362.htm

PaulDrake
08-23-2004, 12:51 PM
Elo caught lightning in a bottle last year. It's not likely to happen again.

maurice
08-23-2004, 01:04 PM
Loaiza, quoted in the Post article:

This is my first time making an adjustment since two years ago.
Good. There was no sense in trying to make an adjustments when you were posting a 7.39 ERA over your last seven starts with the Sox.

:angry:

SouthSideIrish
08-23-2004, 01:07 PM
With his three-plus inning, four-run start on Aug. 21, Esteban Loaiza has likely killed the Yankees' hopes of trading the struggling right-hander to the Rangers or any other team, The New York Post reports.
<p>
"The Yankees still want to move him, but there are no takers," a baseball executive told The Post. "You could've traded him on (Aug. 18) They waited one start too long."
<p>
According to The Post, the Yankees will return to a five-man rotation on Aug. 31, meaning Loaiza likely will be out of the mix.

Contreras since trade:
G GS CG SHO IP H R ER HR BB SO W L SV HLD BL SV ERA
4 4 0 0 26.2 20 11 9 2 11 26 3 0 0 0 - - 3.04

SoxxoS
08-23-2004, 01:25 PM
If he finds his velocity, he is worth picking up. But that's not going to happen. I would be scouting him in the offseason if I were a GM, though.

RKMeibalane
08-23-2004, 01:33 PM
Assuming that Loaiza can regain of his velocity, I don't have a problem with the Sox bringing him back for next season. A rotation of Buehrle-Garcia-Contreras-Garland-Loaiza is strong enough to win the division, provided of course that the Sox upgrade in other areas, as well.

MRKARNO
08-23-2004, 01:34 PM