PDA

View Full Version : Sox on ESPN Classic this afternoon


LuvSox
06-28-2004, 12:57 PM
2 pm central time, 6-9-00 vs the Cubbies. I don't have time to watch, somebody care to update?

RKMeibalane
06-28-2004, 01:04 PM
I'll take care of it. It's been awhile since I last saw that game. It might have even been the night that it actually took place. Man, that was a fun time to be a Sox fan.

LuvSox
06-28-2004, 01:42 PM
C. Lee walk off ?

CHISOXFAN13
06-28-2004, 01:49 PM
C. Lee walk off ?


IIRC, that was the 14-inning marathon that Sosa tied in the ninth off Foulke and Durham won it with a double.

Brian26
06-28-2004, 03:07 PM
IIRC, that was the 14-inning marathon that Sosa tied in the ninth off Foulke and Durham won it with a double.

Did they credit him with a double? If they did, that's wrong. Durham scored Milkman Perry, who was on 2nd base, with a single down the leftfield line.

RKMeibalane
06-28-2004, 05:29 PM
Did they credit him with a double? If they did, that's wrong. Durham scored Milkman Perry, who was on 2nd base, with a single down the leftfield line.
It was a single. If the runner was on second, the only walk-off extra-base hit that a Durham could have received credit for was a home run.

markp8867
06-28-2004, 05:51 PM
It was a single. If the runner was on second, the only walk-off extra-base hit that a Durham could have received credit for was a home run.Wouldn't it have been a double if Durham touched second before Perry touched the plate?

ode to veeck
06-28-2004, 07:06 PM
It was a single. If the runner was on second, the only walk-off extra-base hit that a Durham could have received credit for was a home run.
what about a walk off ground rule double?

Daver
06-28-2004, 07:19 PM
what about a walk off ground rule double?
It is scored as a single.

Brian26
06-28-2004, 08:23 PM
what about a walk off ground rule double?
Doesn't exist. This came up with a Crede at-bat earlier this year.

In a tie game, if the bases are loaded and the batter hits a ball that bounces over the outfield wall on one bounce, he's still only credited with a single.

CHISOXFAN13
06-28-2004, 08:56 PM
Did they credit him with a double? If they did, that's wrong. Durham scored Milkman Perry, who was on 2nd base, with a single down the leftfield line.

My bad ... I remember that now. I was sitting in the top row of 558, and it was one hell of a night.

Thanks for the correction.

HomeFish
06-28-2004, 09:07 PM
That was also the game where Konerko tripped inbetween first and second.