PDA

View Full Version : Why all the Gallas bashing?

32nd&Wallace
05-24-2004, 11:33 AM
I don't get why people are out to get Rob Gallas. Especially on this website. I think he did a great job in his tenure with the Sox. As a college student, I love the half-price Mondays and Tuesdays. Dog days, kids run the bases...it only increased attendance and certainly didn't draw people away, if anything he showed the remarkable difference in why a family should come to Comiskey rather than Wrigley.....so why all the disdain?

Randar68
05-24-2004, 11:36 AM
Originally posted by 32nd&Wallace
I don't get why people are out to get Rob Gallas. Especially on this website. I think he did a great job in his tenure with the Sox. As a college student, I love the half-price Mondays and Tuesdays. Dog days, kids run the bases...it only increased attendance and certainly didn't draw people away, if anything he showed the remarkable difference in why a family should come to Comiskey rather than Wrigley.....so why all the disdain?

The disdain is more related to the terrible manner in which he marketed the product to the public. IN-game entertainment and game-day and ticket-sale promotions have been some of the best in baseball, IMO.

Aside from that, Sox fans just like to bitch...

gosox41
05-24-2004, 01:37 PM

Gallas had one job..to bring people to the ballpark. He didn't do it all that well. Add to the fact that he pissed off a lot of fans after the 1994 strike (I forgot what he said, but I remember thinking it was stupid at the time) and allegedly steaks his marketing ideas from a 12 year old and this is what you get.

Bob

Clarkdog
05-24-2004, 02:02 PM

The problem with Gallas was that he was a tactical thinker. His successes were one-off promotions like Elvis Night, Dog Days, etc. Promotional tactics need to ladder up as part of a bigger marketing strategy, and that is where the black hole of the Sox marketing was and still is.