PDA

View Full Version : bias against White Sox at nwitimes.com

CubKiller
05-19-2004, 12:04 PM
I apologize in advance if this belongs in the parking lot.

Also, I realize bias in this respect is by no means uncommon, so please spare me the teal 'you mean there is bias against the Sox in one of our local papers?' remarks...thanks.

I sent a letter to the editors at nwitimes.com complaining about what I believe to be a severe lack of balance in their baseball coverage that favors the you-know-whos.

In case anyone is interested, here it is:

Times,

I've been a resident of Lansing, IL for the past 15 years and enjoy visiting nwitimes.com (http://www.nwitimes.com) three or four times per week. I grew up in Dolton, IL, and my parents used to subscribe to The Hammond Times.

I especially like the easy-to-use and versatile Archives section, which I use if I've been away for a few days or want to relocate an older article.

However, I am nauseated by the lack of balance that favors the Cubs over the White Sox in your Sports section.

Today in the Sports section, an important Sox win over division-rival Cleveland was the TENTH link in the Pro Sports article list, and the TWENTY-EIGHTH link on the Sports page overall.

This absolutely can not be justified.

This absolutely could not be justified even if the Sox were NOT currently in a legitimate race for a division title and playoff birth.

Meanwhile, it's easy to locate Cub material. Today, another story about Sammy sneezing is right near the top, even though it happened three days ago.

Even if the Cubs are presently the overall main baseball interest in Chicagoland and NW Indiana, you must know that it is an absolute myth that Chicago White Sox fans do not exist.

Your newspaper claims to provide "depth and flavor of a hometown newspaper". Yet here you are seemingly catering to the North Side and CubNation while disservicing the loyal fans of the South Siders.