PDA

View Full Version : Josh Stewart

misty60481
01-09-2004, 01:15 PM
I thought last year that Josh Stewart was supposed to be next Buehrle I know he got hurt but isnt he making comeback??

hftrex
01-09-2004, 01:22 PM
He was hit just below his collarbone by a line drive. Not much since on his condition or if he'll ever get to play again with the Sox.

Rex Hudler
01-09-2004, 01:30 PM
Josh developed a medical condition after getting hit which limited his blood flow. I cannot recall the name of the condition but he was having difficulty with numbness in his hands and fingers because the blood was not circulating properly. I am no doctor, but I was told that sometimes this problem corrects itself, other times it does not.

I have not heard an update since last season, so I don't know his current situation. He may be ready for ST or he may never pitch effectively again.

That said, I do think that calling Josh Stewart "the next Buehrle" is a bit of an unfair expectation.

depy48
01-09-2004, 02:15 PM
then would we rather have neal cotts or josh stewart, both lefty starters...

Rex Hudler
01-09-2004, 07:00 PM
Originally posted by depy48
then would we rather have neal cotts or josh stewart, both lefty starters...

Depends on who is pitching better at the time. LOL

Seriously, Cotts ceiling is much higher.

MarkV
01-09-2004, 07:02 PM
Cotts has no command of the strike zone. If Josh Stewart is healthy, he has a much bigger upside than Cotts. The only reason Stewart was dubbed the next Buehrle was because they have the same type of throwing style.

SoxxoS
01-09-2004, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by MarkV
Cotts has no command of the strike zone. If Josh Stewart is healthy, he has a much bigger upside than Cotts.

No he doesn't. Stewart was healthy at the beginning of the season, and he wasn't good.

Cotts has "ace" stuff and "ace" potential. He is arguably the #1 pitching prospect in the organization.

MarkV
01-09-2004, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by SoxxoS