PDA

View Full Version : Who wants to play armchair GM?

Palehose13
12-04-2003, 12:21 PM
We all have our opinions (some better than others...mine better than none) so how about we give this GM business a shot.

If you wanna participate, start like this:

If I were GM:
Pull the trigger on the Perez/ Konerko trade. Throw in Valentin for prospect(s) or Relief Pitcher. Evans sucks, he might do it.

Pray the Red Sox rumor is true. Send Maggs and Koch over for Nomar and Damon.

Offer R. Alomar a 2 yr/5m contract, offer Everett 6M

Exercise option on Scott Sullivan

The 2004 Sox would look something like this: (Forgive me if I have some numbers wrong, I am new to this!)

Starting Line-up Bench

Pos Player Salary Player Salary
CF Damon 8.0 Uriebe .3
2B R. Alomar 2.5 ????
DH Thomas 6.0 S. Alomar .75
LF Lee 5.0 Rowand .35
RF Everett 6.0 Harris .30
SS Nomar 11.5
1B Daubach .5
3B Crede .3
C Olivo .3

Position player total= 41.8M

Pitching (Here's where I need help...)

Starters Relievers
Player Salary Player Salary
Buerhle 1.5? Marte .4
Loaiza 3.5 Sullivan 3.1
Perez 3.4 Wunsch 0.7
Garland 1.2 ???? 3x
?????
Total pitching salary (but still need 1 starter and 3 relievers) = 13.8M

That puts me at 55.6M with 4 pitchers to get (or use Wrights, Cotts, etc) and a bench player.

Ok...start ripping.... (This is hard!)

**It looked all lined up when I wrote it.

Palehose13
12-04-2003, 01:32 PM
Guess not :(:

bobj4400
12-04-2003, 01:38 PM
where did this nomar/damon rumor come from?

Dadawg_77
12-04-2003, 01:38 PM
Originally posted by Palehose13
Guess not :(:

It takes more then an hour to put a plan together. Actually this would better to do after the non tender list comes out.

jeremyb1
12-04-2003, 01:39 PM