PDA

View Full Version : Moral dilemma

Tom in Boston
10-08-2003, 12:03 PM
I've already turned to religion and philosophy to sort this one out, and neither has been any help, so here I am at WSI :D: :

I'm a college student in the Boston area. Over the past 3 years, I've rooted for the Red Sox as long as they didn't get in the way of the real Sox - any enemy of the Skankees is a friend of mine, and Bostonians are psychotic in a rather endearing way. I can only imagine how much fun it would be to be here for a WS celebration. But after seeing live coverage from Jillian's (essentially a Cubby Bear for the East Coast crowd) during Game 5 of the ALDS, I saw a bunch of backwards-visor-wearing, cell-phone-addicted frat boys - i.e. Scrub fans.

Can I still root for the Red Sox in good conscience? Must I root for a catastrophic earthquake to strike the Bronx tonight?

:)

Iwritecode
10-08-2003, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by Tom in Boston
I've already turned to religion and philosophy to sort this one out, and neither has been any help, so here I am at WSI :D: :

I'm a college student in the Boston area. Over the past 3 years, I've rooted for the Red Sox as long as they didn't get in the way of the real Sox - any enemy of the Skankees is a friend of mine, and Bostonians are psychotic in a rather endearing way. I can only imagine how much fun it would be to be here for a WS celebration. But after seeing live coverage from Jillian's (essentially a Cubby Bear for the East Coast crowd) during Game 5 of the ALDS, I saw a bunch of backwards-visor-wearing, cell-phone-addicted frat boys - i.e. Scrub fans.

Can I still root for the Red Sox in good conscience? Must I root for a catastrophic earthquake to strike the Bronx tonight?

The Red Sox are basically the East coast version of the Cubs. The only difference is that their winning or losing doesn't affect the White Sox in the least. It pisses the Yankees off though, which is never a bad thing.