PDA

View Full Version : Hey, older Sox fans...

1951Campbell
09-18-2003, 10:23 PM
...is the psychic damage from 2003 worse than 1967? Because I feel the most jilted now than in any year since 1980 (my first real year of baseball awareness).

TornLabrum
09-18-2003, 10:25 PM
Originally posted by 1951Campbell
...is the psychic damage from 2003 worse than 1967? Because I feel the most jilted now than in any year since 1980 (my first real year of baseball awareness).

Not really. 1967 was the absolute pits because it looked as if we might actually win something. No divisions back then. Straight to the World Series...except for the A's and Senators, that is.

duke of dorwood
09-18-2003, 10:32 PM
The 1967 team didnt hit, though-it wasnt like this team that you'd think wouldnt shut down completely like it has.

idseer
09-18-2003, 10:53 PM
i've followed them since '56 and i've never been this disappointed before. i've been calling for manuel's head for 3 years and took a lot of crap for it. well now here we are. 3 years in the toilet.
the reason it's worse than any other year to me is that i know the talent on this team was wasted. it's a crime.

Lip Man 1
09-18-2003, 10:55 PM
Not even close.

This team still had a brutal schedule and 13 games left.

The 67 Sox had FIVE GAMES TO GO. Win four and they were IN. They were playing two of the three worst teams in the league and lost ALL five.

Like Mike Andrews said in his WSI Interview the red Sox (he was with them then) looked at the White Sox schedule and said it was all over.

Lip

idseer
09-18-2003, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by Lip Man 1
Not even close.

This team still had a brutal schedule and 13 games left.

The 67 Sox had FIVE GAMES TO GO. Win four and they were IN. They were playing two of the three worst teams in the league and lost ALL five.

Like Mike Andrews said in his WSI Interview the red Sox (he was with them then) looked at the White Sox schedule and said it was all over.

Lip