PDA

View Full Version : Play of the Game Last nite 9/8


Hangar18
09-09-2003, 12:11 PM
I was at the game last nite, and Bartolo was certainly getting himself in and out of trouble all nite. He definitely caught a break last nite with one play. Now Im not condoning this at all mind you, but early in the game, with runner on 1st, I believe Stewart smoked a ball down the LF line, Lee chasing it into the corner. A fan stuck his glove out and caught the ball .....holding them to a Double, men on 2nd and 3rd. the guy on FIRST was Definitely going to score, had the ball not been interfered with. The fan was promptly shown the door, and got the ball taken away. He was wearing Gray. IF he didnt do that, that wouldve scored a run. We stood up and saluted him for taking one for the team. Like I said, im not condoning this type of stuff, but was interesting to note .....

voodoochile
09-09-2003, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by Hangar18
I was at the game last nite, and Bartolo was certainly getting himself in and out of trouble all nite. He definitely caught a break last nite with one play. Now Im not condoning this at all mind you, but early in the game, with runner on 1st, I believe Stewart smoked a ball down the LF line, Lee chasing it into the corner. A fan stuck his glove out and caught the ball .....holding them to a Double, men on 2nd and 3rd. the guy on FIRST was Definitely going to score, had the ball not been interfered with. The fan was promptly shown the door, and got the ball taken away. He was wearing Gray. IF he didnt do that, that wouldve scored a run. We stood up and saluted him for taking one for the team. Like I said, im not condoning this type of stuff, but was interesting to note .....

That was the beginning of the end for Gardenhire. He came out argued and went back in. Then the "foul ball/double" down the RF line was the final straw for him.

Soxfan7070
09-09-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by Hangar18
I was at the game last nite, and Bartolo was certainly getting himself in and out of trouble all nite. He definitely caught a break last nite with one play. Now Im not condoning this at all mind you, but early in the game, with runner on 1st, I believe Stewart smoked a ball down the LF line, Lee chasing it into the corner. A fan stuck his glove out and caught the ball .....holding them to a Double, men on 2nd and 3rd. the guy on FIRST was Definitely going to score, had the ball not been interfered with. The fan was promptly shown the door, and got the ball taken away. He was wearing Gray. IF he didnt do that, that wouldve scored a run. We stood up and saluted him for taking one for the team. Like I said, im not condoning this type of stuff, but was interesting to note .....

*salutes*
Thank you sir! Your sacrifice was not in vain. We all know that the White Sox probably gave him a nice "going-away" package after he was escorted out.
:)

Randar68
09-09-2003, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by Hangar18
I was at the game last nite, and Bartolo was certainly getting himself in and out of trouble all nite. He definitely caught a break last nite with one play. Now Im not condoning this at all mind you, but early in the game, with runner on 1st, I believe Stewart smoked a ball down the LF line, Lee chasing it into the corner. A fan stuck his glove out and caught the ball .....holding them to a Double, men on 2nd and 3rd. the guy on FIRST was Definitely going to score, had the ball not been interfered with. The fan was promptly shown the door, and got the ball taken away. He was wearing Gray. IF he didnt do that, that wouldve scored a run. We stood up and saluted him for taking one for the team. Like I said, im not condoning this type of stuff, but was interesting to note .....



Frankly, watching the replay repeatedly, I have zero doubt that he would NOT have scored. The way the ball caromed it was going right to Carlos, he was in perfect position to play the carom. In addition, Dougie was not running on the play and while he isn't Paul Konerko, he ain't Willie Harris.

The replays clearly showed he was just turning second when the ball was snagged by the fan. No way was he going to score and the Ump will 99% of the time not rule the guy was going to score unless he was running on the play.

JMHO!

voodoochile
09-09-2003, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by Randar68
Frankly, watching the replay repeatedly, I have zero doubt that he would NOT have scored. The way the ball caromed it was going right to Carlos, he was in perfect position to play the carom. In addition, Dougie was not running on the play and while he isn't Paul Konerko, he ain't Willie Harris.

The replays clearly showed he was just turning second when the ball was snagged by the fan. No way was he going to score and the Ump will 99% of the time not rule the guy was going to score unless he was running on the play.

JMHO!

I agree with this. The whole thing was right in front of me. The runner was not very far along and the ump immediately raised his hands. In fact, that is how I knew a fan had touched it as I could no longer see it from that distance.

34 Inch Stick
09-09-2003, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by Randar68
Frankly, watching the replay repeatedly, I have zero doubt that he would NOT have scored. The way the ball caromed it was going right to Carlos, he was in perfect position to play the carom. In addition, Dougie was not running on the play and while he isn't Paul Konerko, he ain't Willie Harris.

The replays clearly showed he was just turning second when the ball was snagged by the fan. No way was he going to score and the Ump will 99% of the time not rule the guy was going to score unless he was running on the play.

JMHO!

I am even more sure than Randar that he was not going to score. I was sitting in the seats the exact opposite of the guy on the 1st base line. The entire field of play was in front of me. It's not like the ball made it to the outfield wall. It was right there for Carlos and the runner would have been crazy to even attempt to score with 0 out and runners on 2nd and 3rd (unless you have one of the crazy Kim boys as your third base coach). It did not save anything and Gardenhire did not even protest the call vehemently.

As far as the fan goes he should have been booed out of the park. I saw the fans saluting him and thought how similar it is to those who exhort a person to throw it back. Pure Wrigley.

FarWestChicago
09-09-2003, 01:10 PM
Originally posted by Randar68
Frankly, watching the replay repeatedly, I have zero doubt that he would NOT have scored. The way the ball caromed it was going right to Carlos, he was in perfect position to play the carom. In addition, Dougie was not running on the play and while he isn't Paul Konerko, he ain't Willie Harris.

The replays clearly showed he was just turning second when the ball was snagged by the fan. No way was he going to score and the Ump will 99% of the time not rule the guy was going to score unless he was running on the play.

JMHO! R & F said the same thing on the air. ZERO chance he would have scored, little he would have been sent.

Hangar18
09-09-2003, 01:14 PM
Originally posted by Randar68
Frankly, watching the replay repeatedly, I have zero doubt that he would NOT have scored. The way the ball caromed it was going right to Carlos, he was in perfect position to play the carom. In addition, Dougie was not running on the play and while he isn't Paul Konerko, he ain't Willie Harris.

The replays clearly showed he was just turning second when the ball was snagged by the fan. No way was he going to score and the Ump will 99% of the time not rule the guy was going to score unless he was running on the play.

JMHO!

Well, I saw the runner pulling up hard to 3rd. I know they have speed, so im sure if it was close, maybe they challenge Lee.
If thats what the replay showed, then maybe thats a good thing, because by Writing this, the Media will IMPLY THAT IM CONDONING this behavior and ESPN, the Cubune, the CubTimes and others will say were being brutal fans or something outlandish. Nothing different from Yankee fans sticking their
hands out on foulballs, or cubfans pouring things on Outfielders etc etc.

cheeses_h_rice
09-09-2003, 01:38 PM
He wouldn't have scored.

That said, that fan is an IDIOT, plain and simple.

What part of "do not touch any ball in play" don't these maroons understand?

ode to veeck
09-09-2003, 01:50 PM
My thoughts on the REAL play of the game was Jose's leaping stab on Jones' line drive to end the inning and take two key runs off the board at a point in the game they were hitting Barto pretty hard

Honorable mention was JM's decision to leave Barto in the 8th and 9th after he was well over 100 pitches. Of course, we all know JM would've been crucified here at WSI had Barto got hammered, but instead our workhorse keep the MPH near his pitch count and the Sox are in 1st by themselves

Hokiesox
09-09-2003, 03:54 PM
Originally posted by 34 Inch Stick
I am even more sure than Randar that he was not going to score. I was sitting in the seats the exact opposite of the guy on the 1st base line. The entire field of play was in front of me. It's not like the ball made it to the outfield wall. It was right there for Carlos and the runner would have been crazy to even attempt to score with 0 out and runners on 2nd and 3rd (unless you have one of the crazy Kim boys as your third base coach). It did not save anything and Gardenhire did not even protest the call vehemently.

As far as the fan goes he should have been booed out of the park. I saw the fans saluting him and thought how similar it is to those who exhort a person to throw it back. Pure Wrigley.


I didn't see the play (getting married in 6 months seems to be more important to the fiance than a sox pennant race...she could be replaced...), but, if it was a GR double, as you all are saying, and the runner started out on first...it doesn't matter if he would have made it or not. A GR2 means everyone gets 2 bases FROM THE TIME OF THE PITCH. So, blue made the right call if this were the case. Nobody has given a good explanation of the play to me, but this is the correct umpiring call based on what I think happened.

Nellie_Fox
09-09-2003, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by Hokiesox
A GR2 means everyone gets 2 bases FROM THE TIME OF THE PITCH. So, blue made the right call if this were the case. Nobody has given a good explanation of the play to me, but this is the correct umpiring call based on what I think happened. On fan interference, the umpire can award extra bases if he believes that it is clear that the runner would have made it but for the interference. They rarely do.

OEO Magglio
09-09-2003, 04:17 PM
Mientkiewicz had no chance to score on that play, he's one of the twins slowest runners, the ball would have bounced right to carlos, and doug would have been held at 3rd.

Iwritecode
09-09-2003, 04:18 PM
Originally posted by cheeses_h_rice
He wouldn't have scored.

That said, that fan is an IDIOT, plain and simple.

What part of "do not touch any ball in play" don't these maroons understand?

Not to defend the guy but maybe he thought it was a foul ball?

One thing nobody has mention was that it was a pretty good pick-up. He actually caught the ball on the rebound off the wall. It went off the wall, and right into his glove...

dirty_k
09-09-2003, 05:02 PM
up twenty rows from third base, I saw Carlos going towrds the line with the ball out of sight and was hoping the runner aproaching third would go home. I was thinking we had a good chance to get him at the plate. Could have been a very exciting play.

An any idiot can look at the up that is in the direction the ball is coming from and see the up point towards fair territory. I'm 99.9% sure the guy is a complete idiot and he should be shown the door. And since when are ground balls hard to catch, esp with a mit.

Btw, play of the game was Colon catching the come-backer with runners on 2nd and 3rd.

ode to veeck
09-09-2003, 06:19 PM
welcome to WSI dirtyK.

Yep, the Colon snab on the liner was a big one too