PDA

View Full Version : Media Coverage Question

Viva Magglio
09-05-2003, 01:47 PM
As much as we love our White Sox, we cannot deny that the Cubs have a larger fan base than we do. With that said, does the Cubs having a larger fan base justify the media giving them more coverage than they give us? I say no.

JohnJeter
09-05-2003, 01:49 PM
If they want to attract more advertisers and generate more revenue, I would say yes, that does justify the weighted coverage.

Lip Man 1
09-05-2003, 01:56 PM
The news organizations are in business to make money...trust me on this since I worked in the business for twenty years.

If Chicago clearly shows they don't give a damn about the Sox the coverage will reflect this and to a large extent this is exactly what's happened.

If you want better media coverage you better win something, start marketing better and start kissing the media's ass not necessarily in that order.

That's reality Viva...the news organizations aren't going to give the Sox equal coverage because "it's fair..." The Sox have to earn it. The Cubs get it because they draw two - three million a season. They may not deserve it but they get the fans which leads to interest which leads to stories about them.

Lip

MarqSox
09-05-2003, 01:59 PM
I agree with Lip, news media needs to cover what is more popular. My problem, however, is that I believe it's a self-fulfilling prophecy. That is, the Cubs are more popular BECAUSE the media covers them more, instead of vice versa. Of course, that's impossible to prove and hard to reverse, but that's my belief.

KingXerxes
09-05-2003, 02:01 PM
The reason a newspaper exists is to sell newspapers.

Unbalanced coverage is not only justified, it's the game plan. I've always considered media claims of fairness and objectivity to be laughable.

CHISOXFAN13
09-05-2003, 02:04 PM
I work as the sports editor as a small weekly paper on the South Side.