PDA

View Full Version : How about we trade for Carlos Beltran or Juan Pierre

Steve Bartman
06-25-2003, 10:18 AM
The idea of having Sidney Ponson is great, but what about Beltran or Pierre. They both would signigicantly upgrade our defense. In only 56 games played this year, Beltran is batting .305, 40 runs, 11 homeruns, 38 RBI, and 18 steals. Pierre is batting .293, 42 runs, 0 homeruns, 22 RBI, and 31 steals. Yes, his power numbers are terrible, but he can bunt, steal, and play defense. That is something not many on the Sox can do. Or do you guys think Harris and Rowand will get the job done. We need offense!

P.S. This is my first time making a post. I just recently joined this site. This is a great site, and people offer some good opinions on the sox.

4.5 games back!

White Stocking
06-25-2003, 10:24 AM
Personally, I would hold off on that trade right now. Willie Harris has been emerging as the catalyst this team desperately needs.

My patience with Jose is wearing thin, his numbers are down and defense has always been sketchy - if we could make an upgrade in that department, I wouldn't have a problem with that.

In addition, D'Angelo better wake up, I can see some of those Pardre comments were true.

Steve Bartman
06-25-2003, 10:26 AM
yeah we need to upgrade at shortstop. The White Sox have lacked talent in that department for a while now. Melvin Mora?

A.T. Money
06-25-2003, 10:38 AM
People think that Kansas City is going to trade Beltran this year. I have news for you. If the Royals are still hanging around first place by the trading deadline, then Beltran goes no where! Are you kidding me? How can you be in first place, and then trade away one of your stars? No way, not gonna happen. It's almost July folks, and the Royals are still there in first with Minnie (and we're just putting along).

FJA
06-25-2003, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by Cubsloseagain911