PDA

View Full Version : Last nights ground rule double call.....


chisoxt
06-18-2003, 07:21 PM
On my way home, I heard the strained exchange between Hawk and DJ regarding the ruling of the umpire who held Mags to a ground rule double. Apparently. the ground rule at the Cell is that if a ball hits the yellow line and bounces up onto the foul pole, the ball is still in play. Since the ball did just that, and then, bounced into the stands, it appears that the call was a good one.

Now, given this, my beef is not with the ump on this particular call, but on the actual ground rule. Think about it, if the foul pole were not there, the ball would be over the fence for a home run.

As a sidebar, the discussion between Hawk and DJ was a confrontational as I ever heard between the two

Thunderstruck30
06-18-2003, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by chisoxt
.

As a sidebar, the discussion between Hawk and DJ was a confrontational as I ever heard between the two

Yeah that was pretty funny. :cool: