PDA

View Full Version : Can't Graffy play 3B?

Bisco Stu
05-21-2003, 08:05 PM
We need his bat in the lineup on a more consistent basis. Crede needs to sit and watch at this point, work with Walker. I ask the Chisox experts for their views.

i_luv_jgarland
05-21-2003, 09:00 PM
I am by no means a ChiSox expert... but I'd love to see Graffanino play more, I don't care what position. He does well anywhere on the infield, and while he never does anything spectacular- he is a consistantly solid player.

MHOUSE
05-21-2003, 11:46 PM
Ok let's review. Graffy is a great utility guy to pinch hit and spare guys on the infield. But whenever he plays more than a couple of games in a row, his numbers go down. It's nice to ride his hot streaks, but realize this guy will never be our starting anything. I love Graff and he's one of the best in his role, but it's not as a starter. Just accept it.

34 Inch Stick
05-22-2003, 10:07 AM
As much as you love him now you would learn to hate him if he was a regular. He is average at best at third and once he hits 150 at bats his average seems to drop. Appreciate him for what he is.

voodoochile
05-22-2003, 10:09 AM
Any addition in offense wouldn't be worth what they would give up in defense and slowing Crede's development.

gosox41
05-22-2003, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by Bisco Stu
We need his bat in the lineup on a more consistent basis. Crede needs to sit and watch at this point, work with Walker. I ask the Chisox experts for their views.

Crede should play everyday. I have faith he'll work his way out of this slump. Graff. is not an everday player.

Bob

lowesox
05-22-2003, 10:25 AM
I think a lot of Sox had no faith in Gary Ward, and I think Crede was one of those guys. He was praising walker a few weeks ago when Ward was still the hitting coach. I think he'll get it together now that he has somebody credible to learn from.

boog_alou
05-22-2003, 10:28 AM