PDA

View Full Version : Minnie Minoso

hold2dibber
01-26-2003, 01:42 AM
I noticed that Rob Neyer of ESPN has Minnie as the 5th (I believe) most deserving player of HOF induction. Yet, as much as he is beloved on the South Side, Minnie clearly doesn't have the same forceful HOF support that Nellie had.

If you look at his career stats, (http://www.baseball-reference.com/m/minosmi01.shtml) he clearly was a special player (I was born in '67, so I have no first hand knowledge). He was a 7 time All-Star, 5 time top-ten MVP votes, 8 times top-10 league BA, 9 times top-10 league OBP leader, 6 times top-10 league SLG % leader, 8 times top-10 league OPS leader , lead the league in SBs 3 times, lead the league in hit by pitch NINE times, 3 gold gloves, top 10 in HRs twice, top 10 in RBIs 5 times, etc., etc., etc.

On top of that, Minnie was and is an incredible baseball ambassador. I met him for the first time playing pinball in CF of the old Comiskey in the late '70s. Since then, I've met him maybe 2 or 3 times at the ballpark. He is an incredible human being. Bubbling over with enthusiasm, friendliness and humor. He deserves all of our support. Write your local neighborhood HOF voter and make the case for Minnie. The HOF is woefully short of Pale Hose. We should all do what we can to see someone like Minnie, who is so obviously qualified, make it into Cooperstown.

gogosoxgogo
01-26-2003, 01:47 AM
Minnie was a great player and an even better guy, I just don't think he was a hall of famer. At least no more than I think Ryne Sandburg and Ron Santo are HOFer's either.

RichH55
01-26-2003, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by gogosoxgogo
Minnie was a great player and an even better guy, I just don't think he was a hall of famer. At least no more than I think Ryne Sandburg and Ron Santo are HOFer's either.