PDA

View Full Version : What do the Sox need this offseason?

chisox06
11-19-2002, 08:58 PM
I can see three major gaps in the sox for next year.

1.) Center field, I dont trust a guy like Rowand in center field all year long, he is unproven and obviously center field is a very key poisition, I sure would like to have Lofton back in center.

2.) Another proven starter, this has been the hot topic and I think it should be the Sox number one priority.

3.) Catcher, Mark Johnson, Miguel Olivo, or Josh Paul, Im sorry but thats a pretty iffy list for guys behind the plate for next year. With the Sox young pitchers it would be nice to have a veteran catcher behind the plate.

I'm no baseball expert but I belive these are the key areas where the Sox desperately need to make some changes if they want to contend for the AL central next year. Anything else you guys can add?

idseer
11-19-2002, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by chisox06

1.) Center field, I dont trust a guy like Rowand in center field all year long, he is unproven and obviously center field is a very key poisition, I sure would like to have Lofton back in center.

2.) Another proven starter, this has been the hot topic and I think it should be the Sox number one priority.

3.) Catcher, Mark Johnson, Miguel Olivo, or Josh Paul, Im sorry but thats a pretty iffy list for guys behind the plate for next year. With the Sox young pitchers it would be nice to have a veteran catcher behind the plate.

I'm no baseball expert but I belive these are the key areas where the Sox desperately need to make some changes if they want to contend for the AL central next year. Anything else you guys can add?

i might add ss, tho i doubt anything will be done about it. jose won't be getting better at this point in his career and jimenez is still an unknown factor.
also the manager's position is a key area that will come into play again.

hold2dibber
11-19-2002, 10:12 PM