PDA

View Full Version : ISU article about Chris Rongey

thomas35forever
03-06-2014, 01:15 PM
http://stories.illinoisstate.edu/magazine/illinois-state/state-side/alum-ready-another-baseball-season-white-sox-radio-host/
Very interesting read, especially if you like broadcasting stories.

Rocky Soprano
03-06-2014, 02:30 PM
All I am going to say is that I am not a fan of his work.

Noneck
03-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Im no expert on this but if he wants to be a play by play announcer shouldnt he be doing some play by play to hone his skills? Like getting a minor league gig somewhere.

Tragg
03-06-2014, 03:53 PM
Didn't Dave Wills go from that gig to Tampa Bay PBP?
Maybe Wills had a different background - I just remember him being the pregame host (and a damn good one).

Noneck
03-06-2014, 04:05 PM
Didn't Dave Wills go from that gig to Tampa Bay PBP?
Maybe Wills had a different background - I just remember him being the pregame host (and a damn good one).

I believe he did the kane county cougars.

EMachine10
03-06-2014, 04:31 PM
All I am going to say is that I am not a fan of his work.
+1. He has become a tough listen, in my opinion.

Domeshot17
03-06-2014, 04:44 PM
+1. He has become a tough listen, in my opinion.

I just don't think he gets his fanbase. While I like Boers and Bernstein and I get the act of putting the meatballs down, Rongey sucks at it. Mostly because his domain is not the B & B show, and we he just tries to get all cavalier with the fans, it is the wrong place to do so.

Rocky Soprano
03-06-2014, 04:53 PM
I just don't think he gets his fanbase. While I like Boers and Bernstein and I get the act of putting the meatballs down, Rongey sucks at it. Mostly because his domain is not the B & B show, and we he just tries to get all cavalier with the fans, it is the wrong place to do so.

Which is why the following quote is so absurd and false that it made me cringe: