PDA

View Full Version : Trot Nixon Gossip

CiscoCarlos
07-27-2002, 01:16 PM
So Fox is saying that they think it likely that Thomas and Ritchie will go to the Red Sox in exchange for Trot Nixon. Hey, Trot grew up in the town I now live in (Wilmington, N.C.), also the town where Michael Jordan grew up.

One sidelight: His dad is a kidney doctor. Very wealthy and very respected though he got into a mess at the beach last Christmas with some 23 year old woman he beat up at 2 am in the morning--wasn't his long suffering wife, this time.

Daddy Nixon is known for being too involved in Trot's career and is the ultimate baseball fanatic dad. I've been managing little league here for the past five years and people still talk about his constant yelling at umps, etc--though that must have been years and years ago.

But everyone likes Trot and he's a source of pride for the town. In spirit, he really reminds me of Konerko, though he's not as good as a hitter. I hope the trade goes thru.

HawkDJ
07-27-2002, 01:33 PM
I sure hope some pitching prospects will be included. Especially ones with an ERA below 5 thank you very much.

basilesox
07-27-2002, 01:34 PM
Fox just announced that Boston may be interested in Frank Thomas and Todd Ritchie for Trot Nixon and others. This deal may benefit us after all.

Nixon could go into left making Lee our new DH......Works well, because he struggles defensively.

I believe Nixon has not yet reached his prime, in which he might actually produce better than Thomas in future years. Nixon could hit 30+ Homers and drive in over a hundred runs next year. Hitting .300 could also be obtained by Nixon, who the Red Sox have been waiting on to breakout for awhile. Look at players such as Sosa and Luis Gonzalez who did not break out until 5 or 6 years after they made the jump to the majors.

Dumping Ritchie is huge for us, because he is a below average player, that Manuel will continue to start (for some reason) while he is still in CHitown.

WinningUgly!