PDA

View Full Version : Rants and raves and hopes for the future

xil357
07-17-2002, 11:25 AM
I'm new to WSI and this is my first post so I hope you will grant me some latitude as I spew four years of pent-up frustration and give some props to those who deserve them.

Having moved to Dallas in early 1999 it is hard to get any good Sox info. The Trib on-line is accessible but it's frustrating not getting any real questions answered by Paul Sullivan, between his moratoriums and "therapy sessions." Is he really a Sox-hater like Mariotti or is all just schtick? The Sun Times sometimes has some good stories but little in-depth analysis.

Forget about getting anything on the Sox here in Dallas. Whenever I tell someone I'm from Chicago, they say "Hey, how 'bout Sammy!" or "All right, Cubs fan!" It's all I can do to keep from gagging before I politely tell them that there is another major league team in Chicago. Most Texans aren't malicious, they are just woefully uninformed.

The TV sports coverage here in Dallas is good for the Cowboys, Stars, Rangers and Mavs. Often they will give scores of select games, but invariably it is Yankees and Red Sox highlights. For crimeny sakes, there are lots more expatriated Chicagoans here in Dallas then former New Yorkers or Bostonians. I guess there just isn't enough time for other AL teams, they have to get back to kissing the silver spoon in favorite son George W.'s golden rear end.