PDA

View Full Version : 2005 ALCS Deja Vu


JermaineDye05
05-20-2011, 06:27 PM
Link (http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=14908519&topic_id=11493214&c_id=mlb)

AJ would be proud.

mzh
05-20-2011, 06:50 PM
I thought it was clarified after the AJ incident that once the batter left the circle, he forfeited the right to run?

Gavin
05-20-2011, 07:47 PM
i thought it was clarified after the aj incident that once the batter left the circle, he forfeited the right to run?

+1

eriqjaffe
05-23-2011, 11:05 AM
Correct.

Rule 6.09(b) Comment: A batter who does not realize his situation on a third strike not caught, and who is not in the process of running to first base, shall be declared out once he leaves the dirt circle surrounding home plate.

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/batter_6.jsp

That comment clause was put there as a direct result of the AJ incident.

downstairs
05-23-2011, 01:32 PM
Even though it was a bad call according to the new rules, as a catcher... NEVER ASSUME ANYTHING!

It takes 3 steps and a few seconds to tag the guy or throw to first just to be absolutely sure. And the catcher should have known the ball hit the ground.

esbrechtel
05-23-2011, 03:54 PM
Even though it was a bad call according to the new rules, as a catcher... NEVER ASSUME ANYTHING!

It takes 3 steps and a few seconds to tag the guy or throw to first just to be absolutely sure. And the catcher should have known the ball hit the ground.

Exactly. It is just plain laziness to not make a weak throw to first or stand up and tag a guy....

Brian26
05-23-2011, 09:53 PM
I thought it was clarified after the AJ incident that once the batter left the circle, he forfeited the right to run?

AJ never left the batter's circle. He left the box, but never the circle.

CLUBHOUSE KID
05-24-2011, 03:53 PM
AJ never left the batter's circle. He left the box, but never the circle.

This is true.