PDA

View Full Version : Guess what happened to Carl Crawford tonight


BringHomeDaBacon
07-20-2010, 11:35 PM
Did anyone see what happened to poor Carl Crawford tonight?

ouch

Boondock Saint
07-20-2010, 11:36 PM
Did anyone see what happened to poor Carl Crawford tonight?

ouch

No, enlighten us.

BadBobbyJenks
07-20-2010, 11:37 PM
Did anyone see what happened to poor Carl Crawford tonight?

ouch

Well don't leave me hanging bro.

doublem23
07-20-2010, 11:37 PM
Did anyone see what happened to poor Carl Crawford tonight?

ouch

http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2009/9/16/128976319134982925.jpg

BringHomeDaBacon
07-20-2010, 11:37 PM
No, enlighten us.

He took a direct hit from a pickoff throw.

JB98
07-20-2010, 11:38 PM
Well don't leave me hanging bro.

I didn't see it, but I heard he got hit in the groin with a pickoff throw. He was in such pain that he rolled off the bag and got tagged out. Ended up leaving the game.

narski
07-20-2010, 11:39 PM
Did anyone see what happened to poor Carl Crawford tonight?

ouch
http://deadspin.com/5592201/carl-cra...league-nutshot (http://deadspin.com/5592201/carl-crawford-takes-a-major-league-nutshot)

Boondock Saint
07-20-2010, 11:40 PM
I didn't see it, but I heard he got hit in the groin with a pickoff throw. He was in such pain that he rolled off the bag and got tagged out. Ended up leaving the game.

Here you go. (http://blog.prorumors.com/2010/07/rumors/video-carl-crawford-receives-a-pick-off-throw-in-his-groin-area/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+prorumors+%28PRO+Rumors%29&utm_content=Google+Feedfetcher)

BadBobbyJenks
07-20-2010, 11:40 PM
I didn't see it, but I heard he got hit in the groin with a pickoff throw. He was in such pain that he rolled off the bag and got tagged out. Ended up leaving the game.

Yikes, hope he didn't rupture one of his little guys.

GoGoCrede
07-20-2010, 11:41 PM
I'm not even a guy, but goddamn. I curled up in a ball watching that. Ow.

BadBobbyJenks
07-20-2010, 11:41 PM
I love when I post in one thread and enter another, I feel like I entered a portal.

october23sp
07-21-2010, 01:09 AM
Can someone explain to me what the rule is there? The pitcher threw it and hit him with the ball. He would have been safe easily. Instead he gets injured and goes down and is tagged out.

Chez
07-21-2010, 09:13 AM
Can someone explain to me what the rule is there? The pitcher threw it and hit him with the ball. He would have been safe easily. Instead he gets injured and goes down and is tagged out.

It's a live ball (pardon the pun). He was tagged while off the base. Not much to explain. In general, time out can't be called while the ball is "live."

MtGrnwdSoxFan
07-21-2010, 10:29 AM
Can someone explain to me what the rule is there? The pitcher threw it and hit him with the ball. He would have been safe easily. Instead he gets injured and goes down and is tagged out.

If the ball hits the runner and the umpire determines there was no intention on the pitcher to hit him deliberately and no intentional interference by the runner, it's a live ball.

9 times out of 10, this situation will favor the runner, as it usually bounces away from the first baseman and allows the runner to take an extra base. This was just a "perfect storm" - Crawford gets nailed in the balls and the ball stays within reach of the first baseman.

LoveYourSuit
07-21-2010, 12:29 PM
This might be the only way too stop him.

DumpJerry
07-21-2010, 12:33 PM
*Insert urban myth Pierzynski story here*

Ex-Chicagoan
07-21-2010, 12:50 PM
*Insert urban myth Pierzynski story here*

Oh, by next season we'll be hearing that AJ threw the ball at him.

downstairs
07-21-2010, 12:58 PM
He doesn't wear a cup?

october23sp
07-21-2010, 01:34 PM
He doesn't wear a cup?

He's an outfielder, why would he?

And Cups sometimes don't always cover it all, so even if he was wearing a cup, we got hit when he spread his legs. Letting Mr. Dangles get free, if thats the case and it got pinched, the pain would be much much worse than a normal nut shot.

Iwritecode
07-21-2010, 02:10 PM
He's an outfielder, why would he?

I remember people saying that same thing when a batter got hit in that area with a pitched ball. Was in Contreras that did that?

BadBobbyJenks
07-21-2010, 02:42 PM
He's an outfielder, why would he?

And Cups sometimes don't always cover it all, so even if he was wearing a cup, we got hit when he spread his legs. Letting Mr. Dangles get free, if thats the case and it got pinched, the pain would be much much worse than a normal nut shot.

I feel like we need to see John Kruk and Chris Singleton break this down in depth on Baseball Tonight.

pythons007
07-21-2010, 11:47 PM
This could very easily be an effective move. Pitcher aims for the ballbag, runner goes down in termendous pain, Konerko tags player out.

Coop, get on it!!