PDA

View Full Version : Dislike everyone or love nobody?

soxfan22
09-30-2009, 08:25 AM
Ok, guys, I'm a rookie on here and learning as I go. I've only been to two games at the Cell (well, I live in London, so commuting is an issue), I'm totally sold on the Sox and will be over next year for 3 games, already asked friends in Chicago to pencil in the dates we play the Yankees and get tickets for those series of games.

Anyway, my point for this post...........

Who are our greatest rivals? Who do we dislike the most? Is it the Cubs for both answers or looking at our Division, is it the Twins, Tigers, Indians or Royals?

Please forgive my ignorance. My post count is low as I have tentatively replied to some posts and really don't have the knowlededge (YET!) to sit at the same table as some of you.

Go Sox.............good times / bad times..........Go Sox!

veeter
09-30-2009, 08:49 AM
To me, the Sox biggest rival is the Twins, followed closely by the Tigers. The cubs are just an annoying team, that happens to share the same city. The Sox are forced to play them six times a year for interleague play. The dislike between the cubs and Sox is purely between the fans of each club. But the biggest rival HAS to come from within the division.

Madvora
09-30-2009, 08:55 AM
It kind of comes and goes as the league changes. Before my time, in the 50s, I guess there was a big White Sox/Yankees rivalry. That would have been great to see. Major League Baseball was only set up to allow the winners of each league to face each other in the World Series back then, so even though the Sox were putting great teams on the field, there were no playoffs for them to keep going.