PDA

View Full Version : Tribune vs. Sun-Times

ramblinsoxfan11
04-03-2009, 01:20 AM
First of all I would like to say this is my first thread posted on WSI, although I have been visiting the site for the past 5 or 6 years, I finally got around to getting a username :bandance:

Anyways, I know both papers are bias towards the cubs, but when compared to each other which one has a better treatment towards the Sox? I ask this because I was thinking of getting a subscription to one of the two, but I do not want to forsake my baseball team in doing so. Are there any other major newspapers that are both legit and have at least equal coverage of both the Sox and the cubs? Forgive my ignorance, I am only a poor stupid college kid :?:

Go Sox!!!

doublem23
04-03-2009, 01:24 AM
Well, I think buying your newspaper based on the support it shows your baseball team is silly, but even so, the Sun-Times is garbage and dying, so you may as well just cast your lot with the Tribune, which is kind of readable and dying much slower.

Nellie_Fox
04-03-2009, 01:29 AM
Well, I think buying your newspaper based on the support it shows your baseball team is silly, but even so, the Sun-Times is garbage and dying, so you may as well just cast your lot with the Tribune, which is kind of readable and dying much slower.Besides, the Trib has John Kass.

Frater Perdurabo
04-03-2009, 05:55 AM
Do you actually live in the City? If not, you might pick the Daily Herald (NW or North suburbs) or Daily Southtown Star (SW or South suburbs).

Both of those papers are much fairer and more balanced in their coverage of the baseball teams.

EDIT: Just saw your handle that says you live in Rogers Park. I guess you could pick a community newspaper, since you can get Sox coverage online, including at WSI.

SOXfnNlansing
04-03-2009, 06:19 AM
:welcome:

I'd go with the Suntimes. That is what I read at work.

WhiteSox1989
04-03-2009, 06:29 AM
I read the Suntimes.

soxfan21
04-03-2009, 06:47 AM